Monsanto strikes again

Monsanto’s RoundUp Ready was bad enough, but Dicamba is an order of magnitude worse. It’s a form of toxic, aerial blackmail.

“It’s no surprise farmers are up in arms. Dicamba spreads death with the wind, drifting onto their crops, trees, soil, and water. Farmers are now faced with a terrible choice — switch to Monsanto GMO seeds, or watch their crops die.

It’s a greedy, dangerous scheme that will make Monsanto billions and could destroy our food system.” AVAAZ

You can read more about Dicamba here:

http://www.agriculture.com/crops/soybeans/in-wake-of-new-monsanto-seed-illinois-sees-more-crop-damage-from-dicamba

AVAAZ is campaigning for a million signatures to try to stop Monsanto. I’m not American so my signature won’t count, but if you live in the US and you care about food and justice, please sign the petition and ask your friends to sign too.

The petition is here:

https://secure.avaaz.org/en/monsanto_dicamba_og_tst/?bqbYGlb&v=98345&cl=13275740849&_checksum=d1b2a8ba752fa86abe58349ca1195cfa018c5244c439e343f548c84481d5288a

Thanks,

Meeks

p.s. we switched over to Daylight Savings time this morning at 2am….I hate it so much. 😦

 

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

31 responses to “Monsanto strikes again

  • D. Wallace Peach

    Will do, Meeka. They are devious and greedy, and their practices should be illegal.

    Like

  • anne54

    Yvonne is so right ~ agricultural terrorism. But where is the outrage from the mainstream?

    Like

    • acflory

      Sadly, most consumers don’t care so long as the products they buy are cheap. They only become concerned when the food they eat begins to harm them. :/

      Like

    • Yvonne Hertzberger

      There is lots of outrage in Europe. In North America, However, Monsanto has the farmers so convinced that fighting them will bankrupt them all, as well as convinced it is not harmful that there are not enough dissenting voices to crack their control. In the U.S. Monsanto has so many high profile politicians, including state governors and members of Congress in their pocket that the people who care have no power. Even in Canada, where I live, almost all grains and soy are Round-up ready. I’ve talked to farmers at agri shows. They are so brainwashed.

      Like

      • acflory

        Monsanto is getting its claws into Australian agriculture as well. We’re trialing gmo wheat and guess who’s consulting on the project? -shiver-
        I fear Monsanto is going to be like that gangster Al Capone – the only thing that’ll bring it down is getting caught diddling the tax office.

        Like

  • dancingpalmtrees

    Thanks for this information. I signed the petition. Nothing that goes on in the U.S. surprises me. There was another mass shooting yesterday in Las Vegas. Companies like Monsanto and organizations like the NRA care nothing about people only money. This is a society of greed and profit.

    It is fall in America and soon the nasty cold winter weather will be here. So soon we will fall back. Either way I still don’t get enough sleep.

    Like

    • acflory

      Thank you! And yes, we saw footage of that shooting on TV last night as well. It’s as if the crazies all over the world have been given permission to crawl out of the woodwork. 😦
      Sympathy re the sleep.
      I find that as I get older I can only average about 6.5 hours a night. But I need 8 to function properly. Ageing is a bitch.

      Like

      • dancingpalmtrees

        True. And we will never find out the motive since he killed himself. Guy had 16 assault weapons! Insanity!
        As for the insomnia I blame menopause. At least I’m still alive so I can’t complain.

        Like

        • acflory

          Yeah, military grade weapons in the hands of a…nut? psychopath? And the death toll is still rising apparently.
          Wish I could offer some practical advice but all I can say is that it will end, eventually. -hugs-

          Like

          • dancingpalmtrees

            Yes it will end once the NRA is rendered powerless. Sadly most of the politicians are in their back pockets. That’s why America doesn’t have strong uniform gun control laws. Even 14 year old kids can and have purchased assault weapons. It’s gotten to the point where there’s more chance of getting shot than dying of natural causes. I pray every time I leave my house.

            Like

          • acflory

            I heard a statistic recently that absolutely floored me – apparently there is one gun for every single person in America. Given that babies can’t shoot, that is a horrifying average.
            Re that ‘back pocket’ thing. I used to wonder why politicians would take bribes, but then I realised they were probably campaign ‘donations’ because you can’t get elected without a campaign worth squillions. I think that needs to be fixed somehow, then the power of the lobbyists will drop dramatically.

            Like

  • dvberkom

    UGH! Will def. sign. Greed and underhanded tactics have no place in agriculture. Certainly a Bond villain without James Bond.

    Like

  • MELewis

    I’m with you on both issues – Monsanto is evil and the time change (in either direction) absolutely vile!

    Liked by 1 person

  • Scottie

    Reblogged this on Scotties Toy Box and commented:
    Thank you Meeka for posting this.
    I have read up on this issue and it concerns me. I really think if you have to suit up like an astronaut in a hostile to life space environment to use a chemical, that chemical doesn’t belong on our food. To me this seems an issue of a powerful company trying to force others to use their special brand of seed or they will kill off the competing crops. Seems like a strong arm criminal tacit to me. I signed the petition with the hopes it will do some good. Please take a look. Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

  • Yvonne Hertzberger

    This tactic is not new, even if the chemical is. Monsanto has been deliberately strafing the crops of organic farmers for years, killing everything they grow and bankrupting them. The worst part is, when challenged in court Monsanto wins every time. It’s agricultural terrorism.

    Liked by 3 people

  • davidprosser

    Where are the scruples these days?
    Huge Hugs xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy!

