Fossil of Tassie Devil-like marsupial in Turkey

Originally posted on Dear Kitty. Some blog: From the University of Salford in England: ‘Euro Devil’: Fossil of carnivorous marsupial relative discovered in E Europe August 17, 2017 Scientists have discovered fossil remains of a new carnivorous mammal in Turkey, one of the biggest marsupial relatives ever discovered in the northern hemisphere. The findings, by…

via Tasmanian devil-like fossil marsupial discovery in Turkey — Die Erste Eslarner Zeitung – Aus und über Eslarn, sowie die bayerisch-tschechische Region!

For some reason I always thought that Australian marsupials – such as the kangaroo and Tasmanian Devil – were unique to Australia, but apparently not. The discovery of this marsupial fossil in Turkey indicates that marsupials were much more widespread than originally thought.

I hope the efforts to save the Tassie Devil succeed and it doesn’t join its ancient relative in the extinction record.

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

2 responses to “Fossil of Tassie Devil-like marsupial in Turkey

Don't be shy!

