21 responses to “Facebook email scam or not?

  • The Snail of Happiness

    It’s easy enough for crooks to fake link names. addresses in emails – often when you look at the actual destination (right click or hover over the link) rather than the name they have given, you discover it’s going to take you somewhere completely different.

    Like

  • George

    facebookmail.com is an actual facebook address, but i don’t know if they send login emails. They wouldn’t i think. A password reset email yeah, but not a log in.
    When you hover the mouse cursor over the button, what does it say?

    Like

  • The Story Reading Ape

    Scam or No Scam – Log on your normal way Meeks

    Like

  • jilldennison

    I strongly suspect a scam. I would follow David’s advice, and if you can log on successfully, no worries. I have Facebook set so that anybody trying to log in needs a security key. The security key is sent directly to my cell phone and changes every 30 seconds. If an unauthorized party attempts to log in, Facebook immediately sends me an email.

    Also, I frequently get emails allegedly from PayPal saying that my account requires attention … these are all scams, too. Sigh. Too many people wasting their talent trying to make a buck without actually working for it, by scamming the rest of us.

    Like

    • acflory

      I don’t use Facebook much so I don’t have that level of security setup, although I do have it on my internet banking and my games. And I’ve received those PayPal email scams too. The first one scared my half to death as I used PayPal a lot back then. I think as everyone’s said, it’s always best to login to all these sites manually and never from an email.
      I wish we could send a virus /back/ to these scammers. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      • jilldennison

        Exactly! Better safe than sorry. I got two notices via email yesterday that someone had tried to log on to my online banking account but answered the security question wrong. I called the bank, and they said all was well, so … I still don’t know what happened there, but it is frightening.

        Like

        • acflory

          Ouch, that doesn’t sound reassuring. They’re getting so damn smart it’s almost impossible to tell what’s real and what’s not.
          I can see a time when anything that doesn’t come from a friend gets sent straight to trash. 😦

          Like

          • jilldennison

            That is exactly how my email is set up. If it comes from somebody who is not on my contact list, it goes straight to spam. Of course, I have to review the spam folder daily to make sure something didn’t accidentally go there that shouldn’t have, but … sigh … I now get over 100 spam emails per day. 😦

            Like

          • acflory

            Yeah, me too. I have no idea why ‘they’ bother. I mean if they’re paying these spammers to advertise their stuff, they’re wasting their money. 😦

            Liked by 1 person

  • DawnGillDesigns

    The one click thingy is popping up each time I log out of FB on my desktop. I haven’t opted for that option, and have no intention of so doing. I did have an email like this, appearing to be from FB once, but I just ignored it. The next time I logged in online, it asked me about one click again, but I continue to log in the old fashioned way. If I one click it, I’m going to forget the flippin’ password, I just know I am!!

    Like

    • acflory

      Ah so the one click thing is a thing then? I rather think that convenience is going to blow up in our faces one day. I’m staying well away from it as well. Our security and privacy is like a swiss cheese already. Who wants to make it worse? :/

      Like

  • davidprosser

    I’m a suspicious ‘Old Fart’ but I think it might have convinced me.this time. I would have left the email and gone to try signing in to see if there had ben a problem though. If not, I’d bin the email.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Like

  • Scottie

    I agree with EllaDee. If you go to the normal facebook way you do and you have no problem, you have your answer. IF you do have a problem still avoid the link, go through the facebook procedures for trouble logging on. Did you look at the sender email address? It should be different than facebook normal would use. I just an email today Ron and I laughed at. It was from PayPal, which I do not have. It stated that my logon had problems and to click the link. First thing I noticed was the long disaster of an email address. Second was the word hear was spelled here. So yes other wise it looked legit. Be careful and be suspicious. Best wishes. Hugs

    Like

    • acflory

      lmao – I’ve received one of those as well! And yeah, the spelling is often a dead giveaway. This one threw me because it used my actual name.
      Dawn says the one click login is a real thing so perhaps it was genuine, but again, as I didn’t try to login why would they email me?
      Gah, too tired tonight. I’ll check facebook out tomorrow. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  • EllaDee's daleleelife101.blog

    Meeks if you have any doubts don’t click on the email link, log into Facebook directly. Same for any other emails/apps ♡

    Liked by 1 person

    • acflory

      You’re right EllaD. I’ll check FB out tomorrow. If it was genuine though, I wish these companies would stop sending all these damn notifications via email. I feel as if I’m running the gauntlet every time I open my inbox.

      Like

Don't be shy!

