Office #Word 2016 really is a piece of…

Shyte.

What follows is a raged induced rant so look away now.

-breathe-

I’ve just wasted an hour trying to fix the Word 2016 dictionary. It started with ‘Mira Than‘.

No, actually, it started with the combination of two big episodes of Innerscape into one very BIG Word 16 document. How big? 375 pages. Apparently, Word still has issues with very big files. That’s the reason I originally migrated my writing to a dedicated writing package [StoryBox]. Unfortunately, to publish a print version of Innerscape, I have to go Word >>PDF>>Createspace.

Anyway, after spending hours wrestling with Word’s section breaks [more on that in another post], I began doing a this-is-absolutely-the-last edit, when I realised that every time I typed in Miira Tahn, Word would ‘correct’ it to ‘Mira Than’ as soon as my attention moved elsewhere.

I tried getting Word to ‘Ignore All’, but it wouldn’t – and no, it wasn’t just variations on the name, like ‘Miira Tahn‘s‘ etc. And then it began throwing up other ‘errors’, all to do with US spelling. So, naturally, I used the nifty option at the bottom of the Spell Check pane to change the dictionary back to UK spelling:

My efforts obviously confused Word because it suddenly switched to the French dictionary. -growls in rage-

The French dictionary finds every word written in English to be incorrect…

I changed the dictionary back to English UK.

Nope…Word now wants to stay in French.

I look up fixes to the problem. I attempt to reset my language preferences. I restart Word…

Now Word wants to use the US dictionary again BUT the page full of French ‘errors’ is still set to the French dictionary. And then Word stopped working.

It’s back now, but I haven’t been game to check my document in case I end up throwing the monitor across the room. There are many basic, useful formatting functions in Word, and it works well for short-ish, business type documents, but the more Microsoft tries to automate the process, the more mangled and unstable it becomes. Especially with big documents.

I hate to think how convoluted the Word code must be because Microsoft almost never delete anything. They just keep adding to it, and adding to it, and adding to it…

Sadly, while this rant did make me feel a little less homicidal, it’s only a temporary distraction from the main event. I have to get this stupid piece of shit to play nice or I may never get my hands on those lovely, shiny books. 😦

Thanks for letting me vent,

Meeks

 

 

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

30 responses to “Office #Word 2016 really is a piece of…

  • Matt Bowes

    So what did you end up doing? Turning off the dictionary? I note that you can do that by going File>Options>Proofing and at the bottom, click the two boxes saying “hide spelling errors” and “hide grammar errors.” And why not? You don’t need Word to check the spelling, you already did that in a previous program, right?

    It can be a beastly program sometimes. Mine likes to randomly eat spaces in my document. I went from 35000 words to 25000 words… I was a little mad. And then Word made no effort to recognize all the words it’d just bunched together. C’mon, Word, you’ve got a bigger vocabulary than me, you ought to be able to do this. Parse out the words. But no.

    Now I keep backups.

    Like

    • acflory

      hi Matt. 🙂 Actually, no, I tend to check my spelling online if I’m unsure of something, but I always do a final check in Word. And yes, I have caught some typos that way. More importantly, if I need to make a global change, it’s easier to do it using Find and Replace [which does work rather well].
      At the moment I’m ignoring the dictionary 90% of the time, raging at it 9.9% of the time and grudgingly making changes 0.1% of the time.
      I’m also in a constant state of aggravation! lol

      Like

      • Matt Bowes

        Maybe, though this is a wonky way of doing it, run separate spell checks on each chunk of text, then combine the whole shooting match for the win. But it sounds strange that the dictionary won’t update to remember important things like a proper name.

        Like

        • acflory

          The reason I stopped using Word to write my stories was because it had issues with file size, and most of my stories are /long/.
          Sadly, I think little has changed in that department. Word chucks wobblies. It’s just a reality I have to live with. 😦

          Like

  • The Pink Agendist, née Mr. Merveilleux

    Is it just a Word problem? I’ve noticed in the past few weeks that Chrome is red underlining various words that exist and are correctly spelt.

    Like

    • acflory

      It may be that Chrome is using a variant of the Microsoft spellchecker. Or perhaps it’s just that Chrome is an American product as well. But it’s not my English!
      Btw I discovered that Australian English isn’t exactly like UK English either. -rolls eyes- Give it a couple of hundred years and we may all end up speaking completely different languages.

      Like

  • headwindjournal

    Good luck! I spent two hours yesterday trying to figure out where table tools were … Not as hugely frustrating as your situation, but still … 🙂

    Like

    • acflory

      lol – no, it /is/ frustating. The things that are visible are the simplest, most basic functions. ALL the more clever and useful stuff is hidden away even more thoroughly than when we just had good old fashioned menus. 😦

      Like

  • Yvonne Hertzberger

    I can’t get Canadian English either. It reverts to American. Grrrr.

    Like

  • Candace Williams, author

    As Charlie Brown would say, “Aaargh!”
    Sorry you’re having to go through this nightmare, Meeks.
    I guess I’ll stick with my 2008 Word.

    Like

  • Mel Gutiér

    Wow! I hope I don’t have that problem when I merge all my chapters! Loved you’re rant by the way. I felt myself getting angry along with you!

    Like

    • acflory

      If you do have trouble, you can buy either StoryBox or Scrivener [for the PC] for about $40. Both applications work really well and they’re a good investment for your writing future. Good luck. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  • Hariod Brawn

    I’m amazoned that Createspace demands MS Word files, as most typographers say ‘anything but’. How do you stop Word ‘helping’ you with grammar, and then offering the same suggestion for everything when there wasn’t a problem in the first place?

    Liked by 1 person

    • acflory

      I’m amazoned too. 😀 I think it’s a case of “Everyone uses Word to write their magnum opus so take the Word file, convert it to PDF and use the PDF.”
      It’s a roundabout process but as I don’t have a way of converting the .rtf file into PDF directly, or then editing it to make it look nice in a PDF, I have to kind of go backwards via Word. Crazy.

      Liked by 1 person

  • DawnGillDesigns

    ….and breathe…
    Sounds truly awful. I’m not having the same issues with my word package, but then I’m only making small docs. I do quite a lot of ‘add to dictionary’ and copy and paste with out formatting. Perhaps you could copy all the text into a text file, or a single cell on excel, (that should remove all current preferences and formats) and then copy it back into a new word document (after rebooting) and then the new word doc should have retained all your preferences?
    I converted 24 heads of garlic into garlic butter for the freezer yesterday afternoon as part of my ‘grrrrrr this isn’t working’ fix – very satisfying, but my hands stink now! hugs and raspberry jam from me. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • acflory

      The original file was a very nice, clean .rtf that came straight from StoryBox. But then I had to do all sorts of prettying things in Word and I think the size issue just got too much for the program.
      I fixed the problem eventually, I think. Just haven’t had the time to go back in to see.
      Once the Offspring is back home and life goes back to something approaching normal, I’ll breathe deep and go back in.
      Garlic butter, from home grown garlic. I’m drooling, Dawn. Seriously. 🙂

      Like

  • George

    If the problem is that the writer program you want to use can’t produce PDF files, can’t you use a PDF “printer”?
    Windows should have one along with normal printers. If that program can print, most probably you can select a PDF printer from the same print menu, and it’ll produce PDF files.

    Like

    • acflory

      I can producePDF files from Word, but before I do that, I have to pretty the internal format of the book up – headings, indents, alignment, pagenumbers etc. That is where the problem is happening, at that prettying level. I’ll get there, but Word will make me sweat blood for it first. 🙂

      Like

  • Carrie Rubin

    This is what happens to me when I use Scrivener. I think that’s an Australian software program, so you can get your revenge there. 😄

    Like

    • acflory

      Is it? I assumed it was American, like StoryBox. lol To be honest I haven’t ever used Scrivener but I’ve read that the two apps are very similar, at least in what they do even if they’re not the same in /how/ they do it.
      I’d be quite happy to go straight from StoryBox to Createspace but that’s just not an option.

      Liked by 1 person

  • davidprosser

    Feel free.
    I had so many problems with Word I refused to have it and now only have and use ‘Open Office’ which is at least collaborative so all those frustrated with Word problems can improve things for others.
    Unlimited de-frustrating Hugs xxx

    Like

    • Hariod Brawn

      Try Libre Office, Dave — same original code but now far better and more secure, updated.

      Like

    • acflory

      Honestly, if I hadn’t spent so much money buying Word 16, I’ve reached the point where I’d be more than happy to try one of the opensource packages. Ah well, maybe one day.

      Like

      • George

        I would say something like inDesign to pretty things up and do the final layout work, but… Adobe. So … yeah.

        Like

        • acflory

          I actually do still have an ancient copy of InDesign CS but it’s been years since I used it and I don’t think Createspace is geared for it.
          Createspace isn’t like a full on print company. It only does a fairly limited range of sizes, fonts blah blah so the finished print-on-demand book is cheap enough to make it worthwhile. Limitations but I’ll live with them. 🙂

          Like

Don't be shy!

