Corel Draw X8 – Miira cover final

I thought that X8 would be X6 with a slightly different interface, but it does actually have some nice features that I wasn’t expecting – like links to some very sophisticated fountain fills and a much improved transparency feature. Those features may have influenced the rather radical changes I’ve made to the cover of the first book:

Unfortunately, the image doesn’t quite show the depth of colour in the cover as the CMYK black has come through as a rather washed out charcoal in RGB [for web display]. Once the cover is printed it will be much sharper and the silvers will ‘pop’ more…I hope. Anyway, I’ll probably fiddle with the balance a bit longer, especially if you guys point out things I’m too blind to see, but this is basically the front and back cover spread that will go to Createspace for the print version.

One of the hardest things to figure out was what to put on the spine. Once I’d worked out the total number of pages for Miira, including copyright, Afterword, etc., I plugged the number into Createspace’s calculator, and it spat out the exact size the spine must be. Unfortunately, as the first book is quite ‘slim’ there’s not that much real-estate to work with.

I experimented with a number of fonts, but none gave me the crisp look I was after. And then, as I looked at the circuit board, I suddenly realised that I had all the components from which to make my own ‘font’, one that would mimic the wiring of the circuit board. Thank goodness, the end result didn’t turn out to be too kitsch. The new look circuit board also gave me the pattern for the back cover blurb. Making the text fit, however, was another exercise in patience.

And finally, a word about the new background photo. I was all set to use the bush sunset photo I’ve shown you before when I found a pic I’d taken ages ago of my own backyard:

 

I was trying to capture the amazing play of light through the trees and fluked it. The shot is nowhere near perfect, and I haven’t touched it up in any way – I don’t know how – but I instantly knew it would give me the feel I’d been searching for. Pretty happy with the result but annoyed at myself for wasting time and money on the bush sunset pic. Ah well…

I promise to do a how-to post about the Createspace calculator as soon as my eyes uncross. πŸ™‚

cheers

Meeks

 

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

18 responses to “Corel Draw X8 – Miira cover final

  • Scottie

    Looks grand. You mastered the look you were looking for so well. Maybe you should have a side business making cover art. Hugs

    Like

  • DawnGillDesigns

    I love this too. You are so clever.
    I have one thought, after zooming my screen to 200% (!)perhaps narrow the gap between the i and the r on the spine? (do please ignore me!) otherwise, for my money, tis perfect.
    And I too just completed Vohktah. I really enjoyed it ; and you know I wasn’t really expecting to because I thought it would be too alien for my prosaic little brain. I enjoyed how ‘Messenger’ developed and I see a whole new story for Apprentice, of whom I’m rather fond. I’ve just posted reviews. Thank you very much. Round of applause and high-fives from Devon. x

    Like

    • acflory

      Yes! Eye of an artist. Thank you so much. I’ll fix that gap right now. As for the review of Vokhtah…just a wee bit choked up. -very big hugs-

      Liked by 1 person

      • DawnGillDesigns

        Bless; daft buggerπŸ˜‰πŸ˜€
        It’s quite astonishing just how much I care and feel like I bonded with Apprentice. You clearly have no idea just how talented you are.

        Like

        • acflory

          -blush- Stop that! I’ll let you into a secret though, the reason you bonded with the Apprentice is because it’s a Trader, and the Traders are the closest to ‘us’ out of all the groups on Vokhtah. The Traders kept me sane when I had to strangle all hint of softer emotions in the others. πŸ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

          • DawnGillDesigns

            Aha! I rather liked the plodder too. You know which one. Can’t write it down because of spoilers. Is there going to be a sequel? Or are you on something properly new now?!

            Like

          • acflory

            -grin- Yes, must watch those spoilers. And yes, there are sequels, just not finished to publishing quality yet. I tried to make a start earlier this year, but Innerscape hadn’t let me go yet, and then I started on the Createspace project so….

            Liked by 1 person

  • anne54

    This looks very impressive, Meeks. I really like how the green rectangles of the front and back are the same size. It is probably not something you would notice unless the book was spread open, but you would notice it if it was wrong.
    We all know the old “Don’t judge a book…..” but we do with books. If the cover is not right, and that must be so hard to define, then it will not be looked at and bought. I think you have nailed it, and come up with a strong design and good graphics that give a flavour of the story. Well done you!!

    Like

    • acflory

      -big hugs- Thank you! I’ve put so much time and effort into this cover that I’m almost blind to it now. It feels wonderful to know that it’s actually hitting the mark. And yes, those small details can make such a huge difference when they’re wrong. πŸ™‚

      Like

  • ChrisJamesAuthor

    Lovely cover, A.C. The background shot really is quite wonderful and the whole image gets a great balance of what’s between the pages. Well done!

    Like

  • Candace Williams, author

    I love this! Green is a life-affirming color, which is juxtaposed perfectly (in my mind, anyway) with the theme. Imagining this with the sharper black and the pops of silver gives me shivers! And on top of that you made your own font for the spine. Impressive to say the least. (btw, I’m reading Vokhtah now, and enjoying it immensely.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • acflory

      OMG…seriously? You’re reading Vokhtah? -massive hugs-
      It’s not the most accessible of sci-fi/fantasy stories but I still think it’s the best thing I’ve done. I’m going to be floating on cloud nine for the rest of the day. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  • davidprosser

    That’s a really good cover.Meeks.
    xxx Humongous Hugs xxx

    Like

Don't be shy!

