What I learned from House of Cards and a young ventriloquist [Updated]

And another update – WordPress reset my default settings, that’s why comments have been ‘off’. If you’re getting ‘Likes’ but no comments, you might want to check the settings for your blog posts. 😦

+ + +

Whatever you do…PLEASE watch the video of the little girl and her puppet. Please…:)

C h a z z W r i t e s . c o m

House of Cards has returned to Netflix and I binge watched, just like all the other seasons. As I took it in, I wondered what lessons I could apply to my own writing.

Here are my thoughts:

  1. When too much time passes between seasons (or between books in a series) it’s easy to lose the thread. I sat there thinking, who are these people and what are they talking about? I have to put out my books in series faster. If I can’t, I need good recaps.
  2. I’m a fan of varying the tone. House of Cards was especially witty in its first season. Now it’s relentlessly grim. Plots should be music with up ups and down downs. This is the drone of an air conditioner.
  3. When the plot gets so convoluted that you have to make a character say, “I meant to do that all along,” the plot’s not working. I…

View original post 569 more words

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

4 responses to “What I learned from House of Cards and a young ventriloquist [Updated]

  • anne54

    I was wondering how someone so young realises she has an amazing talent as a ventriloquist, or even the desire to be one. Then I read your comment, as well as Dawn’s, and understood that it is a fascinating skill that many have tried. Not all succeed!
    Glad you have sorted out the comments issue; I did wonder about ‘no comment’!

    Like

    • acflory

      To be honest, the thing that really made my jaw drop was that child’s voice. Not only was it beautiful, but it would have been beautiful on an adult too. And then there’s her ability to do two almost impossible things at the same time…
      Anyway, the comments are now fixed but I’d love to know why they became ‘unfixed’ in the first place. -shrug-

      Liked by 1 person

  • DawnGillDesigns

    someone shared that video on FB yesterday, and I reshared it. She is so very skilled. Properly inspirational. (I tried hard to make ventriloquism work when I was a kid. Saved all my birthday and Christmas money and pocket money for a puppet and everything – It was hard, and I was rubbish!) and on another FB note – I’ve not had any ads since I said I’d keep an eye out. I do get an annoying number of friend recommendations. I’ve only got about 30 (which is a few more than ideal IMO), but I have some pals with 500+ and FB seems to want me to add all theirs. I get why, but I have yet to work out how to stop it doing that.

    Like

    • acflory

      -grin- I had a ventriloquists doll as a kid too! No way I could make it talk without moving my lips. And singing? Hah. That young girl is one in a million. 🙂
      Yes, on the rare occasions I log in to FB, I see lists of people I don’t know who have no interest in knowing me. -rolls eyes- No idea how you’d change that though. There may be something in preferences, but probably deeply buried. :/

      Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy!

