Nillumbik budget ‘highlights’, 2017-18

I live in North Warrandyte. That means I’m stuck with Nillumbik Shire Council. This is the most expensive council in Victoria. We pay an obscene amount in rates. This year, the council boasts that it won’t raise rates. Yay.

This is also the same council that wants Residents to embed their houses in the bush despite the bushfire danger. Clearly, they don’t believe that Black Saturday can ever happen again. The proof is in the priority they place on bushfire mitigation. The following figures are taken directly from ‘Living in the landscape’, the Nillumbik Shire Council newsletter. The only change I’ve made is to sort the table by the cost. Have a look at this council’s priorities:

As you can see, $1,100,000 is considered more than enough for ’emergency management’ while a sporting redevelopment deserves almost twice as much at $1,795,000. I guess they figure that when a massive bushfire comes through again, we’ll all be dead and won’t be able to complain about their disregard for our health and safety.

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

15 responses to “Nillumbik budget ‘highlights’, 2017-18

  • davidprosser

    I see children’s(?) playgrounds have a fair bit spent on them too.There won’t be many kids left to play on them if nothing is done towards their safety at home.
    xxx

    Like

    • acflory

      One of the many ironies of this council is that it loves spending money on playgrounds and reserves, but both are chock full of native plants that burn. They’re designed to be little pockets of ‘nature’. So when big nature burns, little nature burns as well.

      Like

  • Candy Korman

    I’m confused and concerned! They WANT residents to “embed” their homes in the bush? Isn’t that asking for a disaster? It doesn’t make sense. I live in a completely different—and thoroughly urban—environment, and even I know that the kind of plants surrounding a house can make the difference between going up in flames and surviving.

    Like

    • acflory

      Spot on. 😦
      Our bush evolved to burn and does it very nicely, so people probably shouldn’t be here at all. But no people = no rates so Council gives planning approvals but with a twist. They want our area to stay as ‘natural’ as possible. Therefore the houses should ‘disappear’ so as not to ruin the appearance of the place, or destroy too much native habitat. It’s called having your cake and eating it too. Sadly, Residents are the ones that pay the price.
      Apologies. I am so bitter about this council. 😦

      Like

  • anne54

    It makes you wonder where the councillors actually live. If you were a councillor how would you spend the money for bush fire prevention? Would it be in physical things (tree maintenance, evacuation centres etc) or is education of residents more important? Or something else?

    Like

    • acflory

      I have absolutely no idea what even that palty sum is spent on, and given the huge size of the shire I’m guess my ‘share’ of prevention probably amounts to $10? Less?
      The Andrews govt is paying for the heavy duty powerlines that will, supposedly, be less dangerous. The Andrews govt is also paying for some kind of expansion to the Warrandyte bridge. Can’t see anything else happening so what is my Council doing with my rates to make me safer?….-rude noise-

      Like

  • The Pink Agendist, née Mr. Merveilleux

    That’s not even 1/10th of the Kardashian STD treatment/Bushfire budget!

    Like

  • HonieBriggs

    Maybe it’s time to start electing robots. They don’t need a salary. Here’s an article you might like.http://www.outerplaces.com/science/item/15974-robot-jobs-unemployment-ai

    Like

    • acflory

      Brilliant article, thanks. 🙂 Unfortunately, the bit at the very end talks about the continuing need for humans in jobs that require a ‘people person’. As people excel at bull$hit, the job of politician seems assured. :/

      Liked by 1 person

  • DawnGillDesigns

    Do you have anything like ‘freedom of information ‘ legislation? Here if something like that is sent out with no explanatory notes (i guess the comments are yours) we can send an FoI request and the public body is obligated to reply, fully to it. When our LAs send the proposed spending plans out with the council tax (equivalent to rates) information each March there’s a leaflet explaining.

    Like

    • acflory

      Yes, we have FoI too and the summary came with a newletter but most of that was about the ‘goodies’ being handed out. If I thought that investigating further would do any good I might do it, but this council is notorious and I’m no Don Quixote. 😦

      Like

  • jilldennison

    I have to ask this, as not living in Australia, I am a bit ignorant, but what does it mean to “embed their houses in the bush”? I think I understood everything but that, and I am always curious. 🙂

    Like

    • acflory

      Mmmm….I live in a fringe suburb where the blocks are generally very big and the feel is ‘country’. When we build, we’re allowed to cut down just enough trees for the house, and we’re ‘encouraged’ to plant native vegetation up to and around the house as well. The idea is to hide the houses. But. Almost all native vegetation in Australia evolved to reproduce through fire, thus everything burns very well. In 2009 – Black Saturday – 181 people died as a result of a massive bushfire. The suburb in which I live dodged the bullet, but not by much. Hence my anger.

      Like

    • acflory

      p.s. I believe California has a lot of eucalypts as well, and a lot of ‘wild fires’? I think that’s the term you use over there.

      Like

Don't be shy!

