Miira – book 1 sneak peek

Okay. Finally an image I’m happy with. The bit on the right will be the front cover. The bit on the left the back cover. And the odd, transitional bit in the middle will become the spine. I don’t have exact measurements for the spine yet, but I can adjust the dimensions quite easily as the spine is made up of 2 separate vector images:

To give you some idea of how complicated this process was, here’s the same image broken down into its component parts. This first one is the background image:

On top of that sits a composite image made up of a vectored, coloured background:

and a vectored foreground:

The original of this foreground was used in the graphics I created for Innerscape Episodes 1 – 5. For the print version cover, however, I had to clean it up completely by ‘trimming’ out every wire…manually. Now, I can change the coloured background to anything I want and it will show through. Both the foreground and background images were a huge amount of work, but worth it in the end…I hope.

Then on top of these images sits another composite image. This is the portrait of Miira which is made up of a gilt frame [which had to be cut out and altered to fit the middle of the circuit board:

and this glorious picture I found on http://www.freeimages.com:

 

The final touch was to add a suggestion of depth:

The outline rectangles are a very slight shade lighter than the pure black of the background. From a distance, they create an optical illusion which makes the face appear as if it’s set back inside the frame:

I still have the lettering of the Title etc to do, and that’ll be another learning curve, but for now I’d really love to know what you guys think. Oh, and the title will be ‘Miira’, but I’m still tossing up between ‘Miira, book 1 of Innerscape’ or ‘Miira, Episodes 1 and 2 of Innerscape’. Anyway, I’ve got a full day’s work today so I’d better get to it. 🙂

cheers

Meeks

 

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

12 responses to “Miira – book 1 sneak peek

  • Esme upon the Cloud

    Yes. I like this a lot, well done, and how marvellous that you’re showing people how to do the same themselves for both the cover and the whole structure of your publishing venture!

    – Esme appaluding upon the Cloud

    Like

    • acflory

      lol – thank you. 🙂 I’m now tossing up whether I should do a few small how-to’s from the vector graphics side of things. I’m not sure there are enough people who still use Corel to make it worthwhile.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Esme upon the Cloud

        Corel. That’s a while ago for me yes. I’m quite good on Photoshop now, but by the Gods it took a while to learn and is quite overfacing at first.

        – Esme thinking why not go for it anyway upon the Cloud

        Like

  • Mick Canning

    Impressive, and highly professional!

    Liked by 1 person

  • DawnGillDesigns

    is this going to be a reprint / new imprint / new version of Innerscape….or fresh and new Miira ?!!

    Like

    • acflory

      Not new…NO!
      Thanks Dawn, that question answered my questions about the title – it must clearly display the episodes…:(
      To explain, when I decided to bite the bullet and publish a print version of Innerscape, I knew I’d have to split the story up into 3 standard book sizes because one book would be impossibly big and even 2 books would be too expensive to be worthwhile. 3 books will work…just. But if I do 3 print books then I can’t call them Innerscape 1, Innerscape 2, Innerscape 3. Hence the name change. Inside, however, nothing’s changed except for the odd typo.
      Question: should I leave the ebooks as 5 episodes or should I standardise and redo the ebooks into 3 as well?
      I’m now worried that people will misunderstand if I leave the ebooks as is. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      • DawnGillDesigns

        Oh, don’t panic. Although…I think that if you revise the editions of the ebooks then existing reviews will vanish (ask DVBerkom and JaneDavis). I’ll have a think, and tell you what my considered opinion (fotfl) is, but my gut is to leave them and have a new title with a strap line ‘incorporating episodes 1-2’ etc and ‘bonus content’ on the hard copies
        Then you can add a bit of back story, or some such to encourage people to buy the hard copy after they bought the ebook, maybe. Thinking whilst weeding today. X

        Like

        • acflory

          lol – sorry, I did panic, but it’s a good panic coz I’d rather do it now that find that my reputation’s been shot…So thank you and yes, please. I need that feedback. -hugs-

          Liked by 1 person

  • DawnGillDesigns

    I didn’t come up with any better ideas than the big strap line, and to do so on both styles. I’ve also commented on your other post, and verged into a stern ticking off by mistake too ;-). kisses.

    Like

Don't be shy!

