The Case For Compulsory Voting …

We take democracy for granted at our peril. It’s actually a fragile thing, and like a good relationship, you have to work at it.

Filosofa's Word

There are a number of reasons that we in the U.S. find ourselves with a madman at the helm.  Certainly, the Russian connection played a role, though it remains to be seen just how much of a role.  James Comey, perhaps pressured by another, played a role.  Voter laws that disenfranchised members of certain groups had a role.  But perhaps the largest reason was voter apathy … many were simply too lazy or too disgusted with both candidates to take an hour out of their year to go vote.

Only about 25% of eligible voters voted for Donald Trump.  Let that one sink in for a moment.  About ¼ of citizens over the age of 18 voted for Trump, yet he now sits in the Oval Office.  Voter turnout in the 2016 election was only around 55%.* Barely half of all those who had the opportunity to…

View original post 988 more words

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

12 responses to “The Case For Compulsory Voting …

  • D. Wallace Peach

    The apathy in the US was depressing, Meeka. Trump’s election has shown those slouchers what happens when you don’t take governing seriously. Fortunately, most have woken up. In the meantime, most of the country is going to pay a high price and some people aren’t going to survive it at all.

    Like

    • acflory

      Yeah, and it’s only been 100 days. There was a segment on our news last night about farmers in Florida, I think, who may not be able to harvest their crops because the ‘illegal immigrants’ have either been deported or are hiding out for fear of being deported.

      Here in Australia, our beloved Liberal govt [sarcasm] tried to bring in a backpacker’s tax of 30%. This would have applied to the wages young travellers earned here in Australia. Of course, what the idiots failed to notice was that our farmers relied on the backpackers to harvest their crops because no self-respecting Aussie [more sarcasm] would want to work so hard for so little pay. -shakes head in dismay-

      Liked by 1 person

  • Candy Korman

    I doubt it’s possible in the U.S., but I’m not saying it’s a bad idea. When people pass on the action of voting they are turning over decision making to someone else. The net result is a mess that is directed by the loudest voices, gathering the most fervent believers to their side. I was infuriated when I learned how many people disenfranchised themselves in November of 2016.

    Like

  • https://www.facebook.com/ecellenb/

    As a U.S. citizen, I am appalled at the state of our country. I vote in all elections, but that is certainly not the case for many here. This apathy has caused us to have what I believe to be a mentally unstable individual in a very dangerous position. We need to have voting on a weekend instead of a Tuesday, as well as have the ability to vote online. I’d be very happy to have mandatory voting–perhaps when the parties are more balanced, if that is even possible.

    For now, I live in Arizona. I am a blue dot in a sea of red. When I went to vote for governor, I read the research and picked who I felt best for the most people in the area. The fellow who is now governor was the worst of the pack, but only 22% voted. Now he is helping to ruin a state that was already in trouble.

    I have an author visit with an elementary school in Phoenix is a few hours, so I need to find some joy in all this mess. I feel worst for the kiddos.

    Like

    • acflory

      I suspect that much of the backlash against the 45th President comes from people who /didn’t/ vote one way or the other. 😦
      Here in Australia, many people just vote their party line, or do what’s called a ‘donkey vote’. This means they enter a ballot but either don’t mark anything on it, or deliberately make it inadmissable.
      But…the mere fact of having to vote [always on a Saturday, by the way] ensures at least a minimal level of engagement.
      It’s not a perfect system, and I still think representational democracy is a terrible, albeit practical idea, but it’s the best alternative we have.

      Like

      • DawnGillDesigns

        You just answered the question I was going to ask you!! Thank you. I knew it was obligatory (well, I thought my pal had told me that) but I figured those who would have actively abstained would spoil their paper. I don’t know how would be possible if the elections are all electronic.
        I get employed by the Local Authority responsible for the administration of elections in the constituency of Exeter for local and general and other (such as the EU referendum) elections, for both postal vote issuing and the verification and counting of the actual ballots. I used to work in the polling stations, but that’s a very long day!! It’s always very interesting to see what people have done to deliberately spoil their papers. It ranges from a cross in all boxes, to ‘none of these’ written across. And of course, there are always one or two with some drawings on them!

        Like

        • acflory

          lol – I’ve never don’t a donkey vote myself, but I can see the temptation, especially when ALL of the candidates are equally pathetic. But even a donkey vote sends a message, and that’s something most voters forget – it’s not just about winning or losing, it’s also about giving our representatives fair warning that they aren’t doing well…and we’re watching. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  • davidprosser

    You mean the kind of good relationship where you go out with it once every 5 years? But do it that often and she might get used to it,
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Like

Don't be shy!

