Neural lace – Innerscape comes one step closer!

Apologies but I’m high fiving myself like an idiot because of an article I just read in futurism.com:

https://futurism.com/within-the-next-decade-you-could-be-living-in-a-post-smartphone-world/

The whole article is interesting as it attempts to predict the near, medium and long term future of communications technology, but it was this paragraph that made me so happy:

This week, we got our first look at Neuralink, a new company cofounded by Musk with a goal of building computers into our brains by way of “neural lace,” a very early-stage technology that lays on your brain and bridges it to a computer. It’s the next step beyond even that blending of the digital and physical worlds, as human and machine become one.

The only thing I’m sceptical about is the time-frame. Tech that you carry and tech that you ‘wear’ is one thing, but tech that invades your brain is something else entirely. I’m sure there will be some maverick individuals who will ignore the risk and give the neural lace a try, but most of us will not jump in quite so quickly. Think desktop computers and the general public. The vast majority of people who use smartphones now either never learned to use computers properly or never felt comfortable with them – i.e. the gain did not negate the pain.

I think the concept of an in-built, brain-machine interface will be around for quite a while before some tech comes along that will make the interface, safe, painless and most of all, easy.

To me, easy is the operative word because, as a species, we always look for the line of least resistance. I just hope I’m still around when it happens as the next few decades are going to be very interesting indeed. 🙂

cheers

Meeks

 

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

15 responses to “Neural lace – Innerscape comes one step closer!

  • davidprosser

    You just wanna join Innerscape so you can say you predicted the neural net. and get off with some fancy doctor.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  • Scottie

    Hello Meeka. I agree but think there will be a few intermediate steps much sooner than we realise. I love the idea of a neural net and being super connected to a computer, but I would need a flow control. Not sure I can handle functioning and the incoming full data stream. 🙂 However every sci-fi show that uses computer / human interactions seem to have some type of combination of external and internal parts. It seems they have plugs inserted in the brain they can lay an outside thing on, or a “jack” hole they can insert a jack in to display / control the interface externally. Then when the plot calls for the human part to overload they or their hero can pull the jack out, or yank the device off them. Using that Idea I am thinking as you once mentioned I think of the many prosthetics today which have a neural component and use thoughts from the brain to move the limbs. So do not despair good lady, your ideas will see truth far earlier than you thought. Hugs

    Like

  • drewdog2060drewdog2060

    If humankind can do something (or has the potential to do so) then as sure as eggs are eggs someone will give that something a go. Whether that is aalways wise is a very different kettle of fish. We already have a significant number of people (particularly among teenagers) who are addicted to technology. I worry that we are in danger of allowing tech to become our master rather than (as should be the case) our servant. I do, of course recognise the value of implants from the point of view of people with disabilities. Giving a person with paralysis the ability to control a robotic deveice enhancing their independence is a wonderful thing. I do wonder though if wearable tech gets to the stage where a gadget the size of a tiny earring can be worn (possibly even as an earring) might that not negate the desire for brain implants. It would, after all be relatively easy to remove so, if someone wanted to be alone with their own thoughts (I.E. without receiving noise from cyberspace) they could (relatively easily) unplug themselves. Kevin

    Like

    • acflory

      Hi Kevin. 🙂 I agree, we do have a crazy streak a mile wide and some would do it just for the thrill of being different. But if neural lace/interfaces do become possible I worry that they’ll be used to directly stimulate the pleasure centres of the brain. Not a new idea, but for the first time, that type of addiction is a real possibility. Hope it doesn’t happen.

      Like

  • ChrisJamesAuthor

    Ohhh, interesting – thanks for sharing! Personally I can see this these sorts of things being the 21st century’s version of the “flying cars” from the 20th century. You remember those? In the 1950s we were all going to have our own flying cars… until the snags meant that we didn’t.
    I can see something similar here: right now there are all kinds of problems that could prevent tech this becoming a reality. In any case, regarding tech in the body, I think communications will come second to medical needs, e.g. implants under the skin that monitor blood pressure, and constantly check the condition of your blood or specific organs, etc then let your doctor know when something starts going wrong.

    Like

    • acflory

      I agree, Chris. Medical implants are already happening – think pacemaker – so they’ll simply become more ubiquitous. But non essential implants? Especially to the brain? No, can’t see it happening, at least not on a society-wide scale.

      Liked by 1 person

      • ChrisJamesAuthor

        Exactly: I think medicine is where we’ll really see some sci-fi become reality, like cloned organs. Imagine a new heart/lungs/kidneys being grown from one’s own cells with no chance of rejection? Obviously it will be too expensive for the peasants, but the 1% will be able to live forever in a few decades 😉

        Like

        • acflory

          lmao – peasants indeed. :p Actually, I just read an article today about a new idea being tested to help people with spinal cord injuries walk again. A ‘device’ is implanted just below the point of injury and somehow connected up so that the patient can start to move his legs again. Only been tried once so far but pretty amazing.

          Liked by 1 person

  • First Night Design

    I think there’s too much that could go wrong, however much we may think we’ve achieved perfection with the technology. I wouldn’t want to be around.

    Like

  • dvberkom

    Well done, you! And quite concerning…

    Like

Don't be shy!

