Pesticides in the US and Australia

Chlorpyrifos is one of the most widely used pesticides on American farms, sprayed on everything from strawberries to soybeans. It’s cheap, and it works well; chlorpyrifos is derived from the same chemical family as sarin nerve gas, and kills insects by attacking their nervous system. But exposure to chlorpyrifos is also linked to brain damage…

via The US government is ignoring its own scientists’ warning that a Dow pesticide causes brain damage in children — Quartz

This article talks about a pesticide called chlorpyrifos, and the harm it can cause. Something that jumped out at me was this:

Pregnant women who lived near agricultural fields where chlorpyrifos was sprayed during their second trimester were three times more likely to give birth to a child who would develop autism, according to a study out of the University of California, Davis.

If there really has been a rise in autism, then perhaps chlorpyrifos is at least part of the problem because the residues on common food can do damage as well. A search for what kinds of foods are sprayed with chlorpyrifos in Australia led me to:

These are the worst offenders when it comes to pesticides, including chlorpyrifos. These are commercially grown foods that we all eat. I almost cried when I saw strawberries, grapes and sweet bell peppers [capsicum] in that list. And potatoes?

I strongly recommend that you read the entire article, including the ‘Clean Fifteen’. These are fruits and vegetables that have the least amount of pesticide residue:

http://www.sgaonline.org.au/pesticides-in-fruit-and-vegetables/

As a final word, the EPA in the US wanted to ban chlorpyrifos, but new Trump appointee, Scott Pruitt, chose to ignore his own agency’s recommendation. Here in Australia we haven’t even gotten to that point yet. Pathetic.

Meeks

 

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

23 responses to “Pesticides in the US and Australia

  • ivankinsman

    A pesticide receiving increasing attention around the world is Monsanto’s Roundup. I personally believe it is carcinogenic, as do many gardeners here in Europe, as completely stopped using it 2 years ago. However, I still see it being advertised on Polish television and I believe it is still commonly used in many countries. I suggest anyone who wants to explore this further, take a look at this:

    http://news.nationalgeographic.com/2015/04/150422-glyphosate-roundup-herbicide-weeds/

    Like

    • acflory

      That’s a very interesting link, thank you. I’ve been following the link between Monsanto-Roundup Ready-Gm for a number of years but I didn’t know this, amongst other things:
      ‘Glyphosate is not included in the U.S. government’s testing of food for pesticide residues or the monitoring of chemicals in human blood and tissues. As a result, there is no information on how much people are exposed to from using it in their yards, living near farms or eating foods from treated fields.’
      I’ve bookmarked that article for more study.
      We really are turning the world into a toxic dump. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  • Autumn Cote

    Would it be OK if I cross-posted this a6rticle to WriterBeat.com? I’ll be sure to give you complete credit as the author. There is no fee; I’m simply trying to add more content diversity for our community and I liked what you wrote. If “OK” please let me know via email.

    Autumn
    AutumnCote@WriterBeat.com

    Like

  • Maric Boyce

    I was exposed to this in first trimester and my son had an underdeveloped cerebellum ( brain damage )

    Like

    • acflory

      Oh…I am so very sorry, Maric. Is he…very badly affected? -massive hug-

      Like

      • Anonymous

        I’m his nana. Yes he was very badly affected, couldn’t walk or talk, feed himself and wasn’t toilet trained. He died aged 11. My daughter was affected by cholorpyrifos that had been sprayed on her house pad as she lived on the site. She was in the early stages of pregnancy. She was told it was safe to stay here but came down with “flu like symptoms” as did her neighbour.

        Like

        • acflory

          I don’t know what to say. I literally don’t know what to say. Eleven years of suffering. For all of you. Please accept my deepest heartfelt condolences, and my anger. What happened to your daughter and grandson was 100% avoidable. It should not have happened, not to them, not to anyone. Would you give me permission to update the post with your comment?
          Thank you for telling me what happened to your grandson. He deserved better.
          much love
          Andrea [Meeks]

          Like

  • D. Wallace Peach

    Scrub your veggies, Meeka. I wouldn’t be surprised if other disorders of the brain are also related to the upsurge in use of nervous system chemicals. Alzheimer’s is on the rise, dramatically.

    Like

    • acflory

      Ouch. I hadn’t even thought of Alzheimer’s but you’re right. 😦 Already grow most of my own lettuce and herbs. I guess it’s time to branch out. And yes, definitely scrubbing my veggies and buying organic when I can.

      Liked by 1 person

  • The Opening Sentence

    We’re doomed. The big agribusinesses will eventually prevail as more pro-corporate politicians take over. Organic stuff might be the last bastion, but can it resist corporate large scale growing on its own. People will support organic in principle, but continue to balk at the extra cost in the shops.

    Like

    • acflory

      Yeah, I admit I’ve chosen cost over ‘principle’ in the past but I’m going to try and change that, certainly for the ‘dirty dozen’. Long term though? I live in hope that things will change for the better…Yes, hopeless optimist.

      Liked by 2 people

  • dancingpalmtrees

    Reblogged this on Espiritu en Fuego/A Fiery Spirit and commented:
    How pesticides negatively affect the health of all people especially women and children.

    Like

  • MELewis

    Scary stuff. And of course nothing is ever shown at retail about what your fruit & veg has been doused with. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • acflory

      Yes. I went shopping yesterday and bought organic capsicum because it’s something we eat a lot and it’s one of the worse ones. I’d grow it myself if I could but the one time I tried, the snails had a field day and every plant died. You’re lucky you live in France. I think I read that it’s been banned there already?

      Liked by 1 person

      • MELewis

        I certainly hope you’re right! I do find it rather difficult to get clear information about these things in France. It’s true that we benefit from more restricted use of chemicals than in the US, for example, but on the other hand we get a lot of imports from Spain, and I’m not sure what the status is on this kind of EU import. But the whole green / organic movement has been late coming to France and people here are only just beginning to become aware. I’d also heard about the worst offenders like peppers and broccoli, so do try to get organic when I can but it’s not always easy!

        Like

        • acflory

          Our local independent supermarket offers a variety of organic produce but nowhere near the full range. Plus it’s not cheap. I guess we just have to compromise and do the best we can but I get so angry to think that the profit motive can dictate something as basic as the food we eat. 😦

          Liked by 1 person

  • davidprosser

    I see Scott Pruitt has shown his worth already. Let’s hope our Government’s take such warnings seriously.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Like

  • Scottie

    it stuns me how much damage some people will do just to make more money. Greed may be the end of us all. Hugs

    Like

    • acflory

      Me too, Scottie. I understand the ‘need’ to have more -I think that’s hardwired into the human DNA – but greed at the corporate level is something else again. Because no one is ever held accountable, including the corporation itself, unscrupulous people within the organisation can chase profits without any real fear of consequences. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  • roughseasinthemed

    I have a friend who worked in agriculture. She now has epilepsy.

    Do I need to say any more?

    Like

Don't be shy!

