The Rise of Vertical Farms (Infographic)

This….imagine if all of our useless skyscrapers could be converted to food production?!? -happy dance-

ALK3R

Bildergebnis für Vertical farmingVertical farming is letting us grow 100 times more food, in a green revolutionary design.

Here’s what you need to know:

View original post 2 more words

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

5 responses to “The Rise of Vertical Farms (Infographic)

  • Yvonne Hertzberger

    I’ve been seeing posts about this, too. A great, innovative idea. We have at least one in Toronto – possibly more.

    Like

  • dvberkom

    This is so cool. I’d heard of vertical farming a few years back, but didn’t realize there were so many being built. And I love the aquaponic aspect., especially using the fish’s effluent as fertilizer for the plants. Our world will be so much better off and a heck of a lot healthier with most of the food being produced and consumed being veggies and fish 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  • anne54

    Such a sensible idea. Imagine what we could achieve and the problems we could solve if the world was organised rationally. (Sigh)

    Like

    • acflory

      lmao – yes! I love that you used the word ‘rationally’. Agriculture is like a massive cruise liner – takes forever to make a course change. Vertical farming should have made good sense decades ago. I guess the problem is both ‘old’ thinking and the cost of setting a vertical farm up. Definitely the way of the future though.

      Like

Don't be shy!

