Why we need speechbots to answer the phone — VentureBeat

GUEST: Industry and media attention have focused on chatbots for digital channels. However, speech bots that answer phone calls could have a greater impact on customer service. First, because phone remains one of the most popular customer service channels, and companies should be doing all they can to meet customers where they prefer to interact.…

via Why we need speechbots to answer the phone — VentureBeat

Interesting article but misses the point from the consumer’s point of view. Most consumers are now savvy enough to find out ‘simple’ information without help – i.e. by googling etc. If they do ring up a company, it’s because they have a question which is not simple, or which cannot be answered in a general way. Forcing them to interact with a speechbot – i.e. the computer generated morons that curently answer the phone – simply fuels frustration because consumers already know the bot won’t be able to help. As for improving all the areas in which current speechbots fail….I give it another 50 years or so. That means another 50 years of lousy customer service.

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

13 responses to “Why we need speechbots to answer the phone — VentureBeat

  • Candy Korman

    Another 50 years of pressing the 0 in a furious hunt to get to an actual person? Oh my!

    Like

  • D. Wallace Peach

    I totally agree with your point. I never call unless I can’t find the answer on line first. Phone-bots are not helpful at all. Maybe in 50 years. 🙂

    Like

  • drewdog2060drewdog2060

    My bank uses a bot to enable the performing of tasks such as checking transactions and paying bills. If, however I need to speak with a customer services representative the waiting times are not (usually) excessive). Also the bank has a free phone number so I am not complaining! A real frustration for me and many other customers is the tendency of many large companies to base their call centres abroad. It is frustrating to be patched through, on a poor connection to a person halfway across the world who, in many cases can not fully converse in one’s native tongue. I note that when a customer has a serious complaint and is persistent in pursuing it, the response almost always comes from a customer services person in an office in the country where the complainant is based which is, in my view highly significant …! Kevin

    Liked by 2 people

    • drewdog2060drewdog2060

      I meant to add, although foreign-based my bank operates a UK-based call centre which makes interacting with customer services representatives much easier.

      Liked by 1 person

    • acflory

      I honestly don’t know what kind of call centre my bank has as I can’t remember the last time I actually rang them for anything. Usually I do everything via internet banking. On the rare occasions I do have to speak to someone I can never remember my phone banking PIN. Actually, that may be one reason I avoid phone banking where possible.
      As the bank bot would need to access your account details, what do you have to do in terms of security?

      Like

  • George

    And now i feel the need to make two chatbots that try to mimic human speech patterns, grab popcorn, and have them talk to each other trying to convince the other one that they are human.

    Liked by 2 people

  • Scottie

    One thing that would help greatly is shorter wait times. IF you are on hold waiting for more than 8 minutes the company needs to have more help. It is very frustrating to wait 10, 15 , 20 or more minutes. It leads to customer anger and unpleasantness when they finally do get to talk to someone. I find now I do a lot of customer service on chat as it saves me the hassle of what I get on a phone service call. Thanks. Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy!

