Carrie Fisher – October 21, 1956 – December 27, 2016

If ever I doubted my own mortality, the death of Carrie Fisher has brought it home to me.

She was only 60, and like George Michael, Prince, David Bowie, Alan Rickman and so many other icons from my youth, she died too soon.

2016 has been a cruel year in so many ways. Nevertheless, I draw comfort from one thought – all those creative people will be remembered because they were creative. In particular, I know that long after Princess Leia is a dim and distant memory, Postcards from the Edge will live on, and with it, the book’s author, Carrie Fisher.

I read Postcards from the Edge many years ago, and the writing stayed with me when so many other works became mere footnotes to other memories. That is why I know that Carrie Fisher the writer will live on. It’s the only kind of immortality I believe in so I’ll end this post with:

Carrie Fisher, Remembered In Peace.

Meeks

 

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

6 responses to “Carrie Fisher – October 21, 1956 – December 27, 2016

  • Candy Korman

    2016 just gets worse and worse… between Leonard Cohen, Alan Rickman, Prince & Bowie I thought it was a terrible year and now… Now the year is ending with George Michael & Carrie Fisher! The usual year-end media tributes will not suffice. The list is too long and too important. Toss in the strange state of international politics and all I can say is that I hope 2017 is a much better year.

    Like

  • davebarclay1954

    When a creative person lets go and puts their creation out into the public domain they never know how it will be received. Will people like it or hate it? Carrie Fisher has become another such person to leave us this year. May everyone who has died this year (well known or unknown to all but family) rest in eternal peace. Keep well Meeks, huge HUGS to you and all those others who will keep someone alive in their hearts who has been lost to the ravages of time.

    Like

  • Scottie

    It is a grand thing to a creative person when their work resonates with you. That the books have meaning for you is wonderful. Be well. Hugs

    Like

Don't be shy!

