#FFXIV – how to make Dreadwyrm Trance available

I finally learned how to make the Summoner skill – Dreadwyrm Trance – actually work this evening. And no, I’m not talking rotations or optimal usage, I just mean getting the bloody skill icon to light up! Grrrr…

All the forums say to create 3 stacks of aethertrails. They even explain what aethertrails are and how to create them, but they all leave out one vital piece of information, or assume that it’s so obvious it doesn’t need to be said.

Well, I’m a Dummy and I did not know it so, without further ado, here is my Dummies guide to Dreadwyrn Trance.

Step 1 Use your Aetherflow skill so you get 3 stacks of aetherflow as shown below:

aetherflow-pic-1

AND THEN WAIT for the aetherflow skill to come off cooldown. This is critical!

Step 2 Once you have 3 stacks of aetherflow ready to go and the aetherflow skill is also ready again, apply your DoTs – e.g. Bio, Miasma etc.

Step 3 Once the DoTs are up, use 3 of the skills that use aetherflow – i.e. Fester, Bane, Painflare or Energy Drain.

These skills have the added effect of creating aethertrails and once you have 3 aethertrails, the Dreadwyrm Trance skill will light up:

aetherflow-pic-2

Step 4 Use Dreadwyrm Trance.

Step 5 Use Ruin III [because under Dreadwyrm Trance, it becomes 10% more powerful and costs much less mp than normal].

Step 6 Just before Dreadwyrm Trance wears off, use Deathflare [level 60 skill].

Two things that make Dreadwyrm Trance fail

  1. if the aetherflow skill is on cooldown, Dreadwyrm Trance will not be available, no matter how many aethertrails you have up.
  2. if Fester, Bane, Painflare or Energy Drain don’t actually ‘work’, Dreadwyrm Trance will not work either. For example, if you use Fester without having any DoTs up, the skill will have no effect because it needs DoTs to work. And if it doesn’t work, neither will Dreadwyrm Trance.

And that’s it. Now I’m going to take my Dummy self to bed.

Goodnight all!

Meeks

 

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

12 responses to “#FFXIV – how to make Dreadwyrm Trance available

Don't be shy!

