October 23, 2016 6:01pm and it’s finished :(

I know I shouldn’t be sad, but I’ve literally just finished Innerscape, and I feel bereft, as if I’ve lost some of my best friends.

The Innerscape journey began with nano 2012, so there’s a kind of pleasing symmetry in finally finishing it just before the start of nano 2016, but I feel no sense of triumph. No fireworks, no champagne, just The End. Bugger. 😦

Am I some kind of weirdo for feeling this way?

Sorry, I’ll go cook dinner now.

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

23 responses to “October 23, 2016 6:01pm and it’s finished :(

  • George

    You have the pain of promotion now πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • acflory

      Don’t know how I missed this one, but your words were prophetic! I have been so busy the last few days I literally haven’t been on FFXIV at all. Haven’t done much of anything except prepare for that dread promotion. Ah well, I’m sure the worst is behind me now…-rolls eyes-

      Like

  • marianallen

    Your Innerscape friends are still with you. In one way, they’re like insects in amber; the Innerscape story is closed and all the stages of their lives that were in it are still alive simultaneously. In another way, you can still go play with them by writing short stories about things that happened when you weren’t looking at them in Innerscape! I’m about to publish a book of short stories set in the world of SAGE. But, yeah, I understand: it’s a bit like sending your kid out into the world. You’ve done your bit, and that bit is over, but they aren’t GONE gone, and more adventures are to come!

    Like

    • acflory

      -hugs- you’re right, I know you are, just doesn’t feel like it at the moment. I loved my Vokhtah characters too, but there was so much less of /me/ in them it was easier to let go. Innerscape draws on all my passions, not just sci-fi and biology. And if I’m truthful, I’m just a wee bit in love with Kenneth myself. Anyway, I kind of like the idea of shorts drawn from the world. Short stories aren’t really my forte but I may give them another go. Thanks. πŸ™‚

      Like

  • Candy Korman

    Please find some consolation in your post-BOOKum depressed state, that I’m excited about reading it!

    Like

  • Candace Williams, author

    Congratulations! Maybe you feel numb at the moment because you invested all your emotional reserves into the project and haven’t recouped! Time to treat yourself to some R&R! ❀

    Like

    • acflory

      Actually, I think my body is going into the R&R stage all by itself. I normally have very ‘busy’ dreams in which I’m forever trying to do something and never quite making it. Last night I slept like a baby. Thanks for the kind words. πŸ™‚

      Like

  • Frank Prem

    Congratulations Meeks. I hear the sadness, but there’s a huge joy in this point in the journey.

    Well done.

    Frank

    Like

  • EllaDee

    OMG. Really. That’s awesome. Sometimes endings are like that. A quiet departure. Calm & dignified. But significant. Enjoy the next bit ☺

    Like

  • The Opening Sentence

    I can’t say I feel your pain because it’s yet to hit me. (My series has a few more books to go.) Looking ahead I don’t know what I’ll do when I pack away my characters, so maybe you can keep us all informed about how you dealt with the literary cold turkey.

    It is an investment, question is, do you feel as if you got a good return on it?

    Like

    • acflory

      To be honest, I think I’ve been dragging my feet for the last week or so, but today the ending was just…there. I have ordinary type work for the next three days so hopeful by Thursday I’ll be ready to get into the editing. As for a good return…hmm…I’ve enjoyed the journey, even though parts of it were like pulling teeth. I guess I’ll just have to wait and see if anyone else enjoys it as well. πŸ™‚

      Like

  • chrisjames282

    Wonderful news! I know you feel “bugger” and that’s fine, but Innerscape is a fantastic story and, speaking as a reader, I can’t wait for it to begin the next stage of its journey! I’ve sent you a longer, slightly rambling, email πŸ™‚

    Like

  • anne54

    Four years is a big part of your life, Meeks, so it is no wonder that you feel flat. It has become a part of your life and I can see how you feel that you have lost your best friends. As David says, with his tongue in his cheek, now for relaxation!

    Liked by 1 person

  • davidprosser

    Nothing weird in that. There’s a sudden big gap in your life anytime something you’re involved in comes to an abrupt halt. That you identify with the characters you have so much invested in isn’t strange either.
    You’ll have to ease into a period of relaxation…… Ha!
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • acflory

      You’re right about the characters but I’m not too sure about the period of relaxation. There are a couple of holes I’ve been meaning to dig for a while now. πŸ˜›
      -massive hugs back- And thank you.

      Like

Don't be shy!

