21 responses to “#Microsoft, #Windows10 and #Office 16 vs my privacy

  • DawnGillDesigns

    I know. I had a similar process last year with my new lappy. I still had my old cds with office tho, so installed them. I gave microsoft one of my genuine email addresses that I used when buying the software about 10 years ago but made everything else up (and made a note of the lies!).
    Good luck tomorrow. It’s well annoying.

    Like

  • davidprosser

    I’m so glad I didn’t have to go through this when I upgraded to Windows 10. It just left everything I had in place virtually.
    Hugs

    Like

    • acflory

      Yes, I’m sure the upgrade won’t require quite so much angst on my part it’s just that I’m really ticked off now. Plus now that I have the new stuff on the baby laptop, I don’t really need it on my personal computer coz I’m happy with Win7. I’ll wait and see how I feel when they finally get around to me. Might actually be fun to say ‘hey, you know what? I’ve changed my mind.’ πŸ˜€

      Like

  • Hariod Brawn

    Make sure you save the cookies that note your ad. preferences, otherwise it’ll unset your settings. CCleaner – I expect you use it.

    http://choice.microsoft.com/en-GB/opt-out (that’s for GB, so find equiv.)

    Like

  • EllaDee

    And Windows 10 is universally considered a piece of crap to add insult to injury. Not much anymore to do with computer software etc is intuitive, it sucks hours of time and sucks data to oil the wheels of the machine. For which we pay.
    I hope you have a nice glass of wine, chocolate or something on hand. You need to restore your sanity.

    Like

    • acflory

      Yes, yes and no. But I did make a very nice spinach quiche with oodles of cream to soothe my inner beast. πŸ™‚
      I may buy some chocolate when I go out today as I still have the Office install to finish. :/

      Like

  • dvberkom

    Yeah, Windows 10 has given me all kinds of crap to deal with–my start button and bottom tray disappeared and I had to go through a laborious process just to restore them–finally, after several weeks, there was an update that fixed it. Next, my printer stopped working. It’s relatively new and everything I did wouldn’t work (uninstall/install drivers, etc). I finally uninstalled another printer driver I use when I visit my parent’s and voila! It worked again. Now I’m having problems with my internet connection and will have to go through several steps to stop the MS gremlins from kicking me off repeatedly. I’ve got NO TIME for this. UGH! I wouldn’t have chosen 10 but it came with the computer. And I’m with you on the set up process–I became royally peeved when I had to uncheck all of those “preferences” — this practice by the tech companies really needs to stop.

    Like

    • acflory

      I suspect 10 was put out there more as a beta version than as a fully robust final version. I /think/ that’s part of the reason they advertised it as free – so we couldn’t complain about the bugs.
      The data mining though….grrrr. I wish a new, hungry young company would spring up that could unshackle us all from MS, starting with business coz business is what drives Windows, not private consumers. 😦

      Like

  • Candy Korman

    Over and over again, I’m stymied by tech interactions that should be intuitive and easy, but are anything but! It’s crazy making!!!

    Like

    • acflory

      I know. 😦 I’ve been messing with Windows 10 all day and I really don’t like it. I won’t go into a full on rant now but I expected 10 to be okay if nothing else. Instead I think we’ve been sold an absolute dud along with that $0.00 price tag. 😦

      Like

  • D. Wallace Peach

    Oh dear. This is the story of my life every time I get a new computer. Nothing comes with instructions these days and nothing is as intuitive as it should be. I’m aggravated at every step and without fail, something doesn’t work right (or easily). I’m still on Windows 7 and will need a new laptop come Christmas as this one is having “issues.” I’m dreading the day(s) of set-up and troubleshooting. I’ll consider myself warned.

    Like

  • #Microsoft, #Windows10 and #Office 16 vs my privacy β€” Meeka’s Mind – The WEDA Coalition

    […] via #Microsoft, #Windows10 and #Office 16 vs my privacy β€” Meeka’s Mind […]

    Like

Don't be shy!

