#amlistening to Gift of Life by Thomas Bergersen

I’m on a roll with Innerscape today so I thought you might like to share the music that’s fueling the writing :

The song is ‘Gift of Life’ and it’s from the Album ‘Illusions’ by Thomas Bergersen. For those who don’t know this incredibly talented composer, he’s one half of the amazing duo behind the music of Two Steps From Hell.

If you’re not a classical music fan please be patient until about 1:20. That is when the theme kicks in and it is GLORIOUS!

Vaguely [very vaguely] reminiscent of Massenet’s Meditation deThais :

[Just by the by…the conductor is my favourite tenor of all time – Placido Domingo!]

and Samuel Barber’s Adagio for Strings [used in the movie Lorenzo’s Oil] :

the theme from Gift of Life is intensely emotional yet uplifting at the same time.

Okay, back to work,

Meeks

 

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

8 responses to “#amlistening to Gift of Life by Thomas Bergersen

  • davidprosser

    Song of Life was exhilarating and I love the use of voice as instrumentation in it.
    Ms Chang all but made the violin talk to the audience though I’m sure that piece of music all but speaks for itself.
    Barber’s Adagio for Strings didn’t seem to fit here. Though it’s a very relaxing piece of music to listen to and won’t interfere with writing, it just doesn’t seem to take off. A little too restrained for me. I took myself to Adagio, the second movement of Concerto de Aranjuez by Rodrigo.

    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Like

    • acflory

      Ah! I love the Aranjuez too. 😀 About the Barber though, I think this might be a case of context. I first heard it as part of the soundtrack to Lorenzo’s Oil and /that/ was one of the most heart wrenching movies I have ever seen – and we watched it again and again. So I guess I have visual emotion tying in to the music which may explain the effect it has on me.
      One day we should do a blog hop type thing around music. I like just about anything except country. 🙂

      Like

  • anne54

    Beautiful music, Meeks. A wonderful break in the madness of the day. Do you think you take things from the music to weave into your writing, or is it that it makes an uplifting background?
    As for country music, I am sure there is something there you could find to interest you, as you have very wide tastes in other genres. Emily Lou Harris maybe?

    Like

    • acflory

      It’s the emotion in the music that’s woven into my writing, and sometimes that emotion actually changes the how I see a character.
      I’ve heard of Emily Lou Harris but the closest I’ve come to enjoying country was…Shania Twain? Yes, this one!

      I loved her style and even had a pair of thigh boots in deep purple! -cough- I still have the boots….for the memories. 😀

      Like

  • Candy Korman

    Can’t wait to read Innerscape!

    Like

Don't be shy!

