unFeminism and the sticky lock

smiley meekaI don’t consider myself to be a feminist – for a whole host of reasons – but sometimes my unfeminist heart does beat a little faster, and this morning was one of those times. I’d rung a local locksmith to fix my screen door, and who should arrive bright and early but a lady locksmith!

If I sound surprised, it’s not because I think women are incapable of competing with men in traditionally male dominated areas. Far from it. I’ve always known we could do it, I just despaired of ever seeing it.

But change is happening as attitudes amongst women themselves change. Not only was this lady locksmith polite, friendly and very efficient, she was also young and pretty but with a no-nonsense air that said ‘why shouldn’t I be a locksmith if I want to be one?’ And these days, she is not alone. Another young lady doing a blokey job and doing it well is a long time family friend called Holly. After completing a university degree, Holly found her passion in stone, becoming one of a rare few female stone masons here in Melbourne.

I hope that by the time I hit 90 there will be as many female tradies as men because I believe it’s people who matter, not gender. Gender is only one part of what makes up a human being. Important, yes, but not the most important part of what makes us human. To me there are only two types of human beings – those with compassion and those without.

-hugs-

Meeks

 

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

15 responses to “unFeminism and the sticky lock

  • UpChuckingwords

    Great post! Perfectly said

    Like

  • EllaDee

    I’m so looking forward to the necessity for feminist to be an outdated, uneccessary term, consigned to history lessons. I love my Dad’s attitude & suggestions when I left school and was undecided at a vocation… he said you could be a mechanic, following in his footsteps or a barmaid, a profession he’s had a long association with… ☺

    Like

    • acflory

      lmao – oh good for your Dad! So why didn’t you become a mechanic?

      Like

      • EllaDee

        I considered it, as well as spare parts interpreter but having grown up in and around garages I wanted to do something different… although I worked for Dad for a while as a go-fer, and also later part-time as a barmaid. Interesting, later working in a corporate law firm – still quite a male dominated area, many people who knew me by name-email only assumed firstly I was a bloke… the world still has a long way to go.

        Like

  • Candy Korman

    My friend the carpenter found her passion AFTER being a massage therapist. Unconventional, non-traditional, whatever you want to call it… I love hiring my friend to do what she loves doing. It’s even better when she tells me about the major construction projects she’s worked on in NYC. Very cool!

    Like

  • Hariod Brawn

    There’s a women’s only plumbing company in England that, rather brilliantly, goes by the name of ‘Stopcocks’:

    http://www.stopcocks.uk/about/hattie/

    Liked by 1 person

  • MELewis

    You said what I feel extremely well. It is why I have always avoided the feminist label while deeply believing that women can and should do anything they want.

    Liked by 1 person

  • Yvonne Hertzberger

    I live in a brick cottage built in 1883 – so the brick is old. It was poorly patched several times and painted about 50 years ago by the previous owners. We’ve lived here just over five years and all that time I’ve wanted to have it pointed and painted. But we have no funds for that. So a month ago someone challenged me. And showed me how to do the repairs on the bricks and mortar. My husband is not handy. So I scraped, pointed, filled in bricks that needed repair and painted it myself – all but the top 2 feet because I have height fright. Our handyman neighbour did that. It will have the second coat of paint by this weekend. We can achieve whatever we want to. Gender has nothing to do with it. And that is what it means to me to be a feminist. So I DO call myself a feminist – though I love make-up and pretty clothes and consider myself very feminine. It’s about the freedom to be who I really am – and to be recognized as such. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • acflory

      I can’t disagree with any of that Yvonne. My Dad taught me to believe in myself and for most of my life I have, not because I’m a woman but because I believe everyone should be the best person they are capable of being – and by ‘best’ I mean making the most of the talents they are born with. Trying something ‘out there’ that you’ve never done before is my definition of courage. πŸ™‚

      Like

Don't be shy!

