Sea Walls in my hometown

A glorious and thought provoking post arrived from New Zealand this morning.
Perhaps if we had a Pangea Foundation here in Australia our Great Barrier Reef would not be fighting for it’s life right now.
We may not be able to fight Climate Change from just one spot on earth, but we really could stop the local toxins from flooding into the reef now couldn’t we?

Jill's Scene

PangeaSeed Foundation came to my hometown last week. Twenty-five international artists spent the week  transforming the walls of the inner city and Ahuriri (the inner harbour). There’s no escaping the message. And who would want to? They call it artivism—a combination of art and activism.

The project has captured the imagination of our community. Every mural I visited (I haven’t seen them all, yet) was surrounded by groups of admirers.  Each mural  tells a story, sends a message, and they do it a beautiful way.

We started out at Perfume Point. When I was kid I avoided going there.  It got its name from the sewer outfall that used to spill waste not far from the beach. Thank goodness that no longer happens here. The beacon guiding the yachts and fishing trawlers to safe harbour has been transformed, and the only smell is fresh sea air.

DSCF3977 The beacon at Perfume…

View original post 460 more words

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

4 responses to “Sea Walls in my hometown

Don't be shy!

