Outrageous scam! Don’t be fooled.

I received this ‘subpoena’ from the AFP [Australian Federal Police] in my inbox this evening.

outrageous

Can’t believe the blatant hutzpah of this person, or the bad English, OR THEIR EMAIL ADDRESS!

outrageous from

Since when did the AFP get so broke they had to outsource their emails to a private address…in Turkey?

Well, atleast Satinalma from Turkey gave me a good giggle for the evening.

Night, night all!

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

10 responses to “Outrageous scam! Don’t be fooled.

  • anne54

    The part that caught my eye was that you had been “invited” t the law court! I had a phone message left supposedly from the ATO saying that I owed them money and that if I didn’t make things right I would be taken to court. i couldn’t imagine that the Tax Office had to make threatening phone calls!
    I get security updates from https://www.communications.gov.au/what-we-do/internet/stay-smart-online and that alters me to the latest scam. In fact there is a message there about the AFP scam.

    Like

  • George

    I got a scam phone call from india, telling me that my pc told them that it has viruses and that they can fix it. I started cussing in greek and they never called back. πŸ˜›
    On second though, i should have made a honey pot device… Put a virtual machine on my mac filled with files infected with dangerous windows viruses. And let them copy the “personal info files”.

    Like

    • acflory

      lmao – oh George! What a great idea. πŸ˜€ But…since when have you had a…MAC?

      Like

      • George Panayiotou

        Since 2011ish? I have both a PC and a Mac mini.
        I’m doing most of my work on the PC and have the mac to be able to release stuff on iOS devices. Android projects can be built on any platform, but iOS devices need OSX. Likewise, windows phone projects need a Windows 10 PC. Basically, the software libraries needed for the respective mobile platforms, come in the desktop operating systems πŸ˜‰

        Like

        • acflory

          Oh! Right, sorry, I totally forgot about iOS devices and that you make apps for them as well. Was it hard getting to grips with the MAC OS?

          Like

        • George

          It seems you can’t reply deeper than 3? Can’t reply directly to your question. No, OSX wasn’t harder than windows. (Don’t call it Mac OS! It’s not called that anymore, mac fanboys will get angry πŸ˜€ I like to call it Mac OSX and it drives a friend of mine nuts) They just do some stuff differently. You go around in a different way.

          Like

          • acflory

            -giggles- Oops, apologies fanboys! I guess at the level at which you know the Windows operating environment, learning a second one would not be that much harder… For us lay people however… :p

            Like

  • Candy Korman

    It’s tax season in the U.S. so the scammers are calling! The current scam is that they call and say that they are from the I.R.S. and that that you must send money immediately because you owe back taxes. They target older folks and anyone they thing might not realize that the I.R.S. does NOT chat on the phone. My mom received a variation on that theme, saying her loan was passed due and she had better pay it off now. She said she has no outstanding loans and hung up. But can you imagine another 88-year-old lady giving personal financial information to a caller saying he would help her out of her dire situation?

    Like

    • acflory

      Bloody hell! Excuse the French but I had no idea they were on the phones as well. That’s awful. I’ve had an unlisted number for decades so I don’t get those kind of calls. Thank goodness your mother is such a cluey lady.

      Like

Don't be shy!

