A Day Made of Glass – #sci-fi vision

One of my blogger friends, Trinh Manh Do has this amazing music playing on his blog. I asked what it was and it led me to this concept video by a glass manufacturer. It’s called A Day Made of Glass and I wish I could have imagined such a user interface:

Seriously, whoever came up with this concept should be writing science fiction. I just hope I’m still around by the time this vision of the future comes true. Amazing stuff.

p.s. This is a sort of behind the scenes look at the ‘vision’. Fascinating:

cheers

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

8 responses to “A Day Made of Glass – #sci-fi vision

  • Hariod Brawn

    Screen nirvana. Definitely. Maybe. Or is it yet another corporation trying to own the future? I’m still waiting for a smartphone that’s smart enough to make clear calls. Call me a cynic.

    Like

    • acflory

      -grin- Agreed. To me this is like one of those incredible concept cars that manufacturers come up with, beautiful but never destined to become a production model.
      We’ll get something, but what it is could be very different depending on which technology captures the moment. Given the popularity of that video clip however I suspect it will fire designers imaginations for quite a while.

      Liked by 1 person

  • Candy Korman

    WOW! I’m speechless. (And that says a great deal.)

    Like

  • chrisjames282

    Really interesting to watch – thanks for sharing! I did wonder in which year the video is supposed to be set. 2030? 2040? The only thing which might not work is the car: by the time that tech is so common, I reckon cars will be super-AI controlled, so there’ll be no need for the dashboard 🙂

    Like

    • acflory

      lol – yes! You’re absolutely right. Thanks for pointing that out. I feel better now.
      I guess If they were making the video clip now they could borrow one of Google’s self drive cars. What a difference a few years make.

      Like

  • davidprosser

    Fascinating stuff. Love all the concepts.The only thing missing is to use glass as a portal. Step into it here and come out there.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Like

Don't be shy!

