#WordPress Devs….just stop it! This #Reader is 0/5

Okay, now you’ve really messed up my Reader! Where the hell are the blogs I follow?

For those who haven’t yet seen the new WordPress Reader landing page, this is it:

wordpress crap reader 2016

Under ‘Welcome to the Reader’ you will find this:

Recent posts from blogs and sites you follow will appear here.

But they don’t. They don’t appear ANYWHERE. Nor is there a clickable link to take me to wherever my follows have been hidden.

‘Explore Discover’ [shown as 1 on the screenshot] is Freshly Pressed with a new name.

‘Get recommendations…’ is just that, a list of blogs I do not follow that WordPress thinks I should be paying attention to.

In the Navigation pane to the left is an option called ‘My Likes’, but this only takes me to posts I have liked in the past.

Nowhere can I see a way of checking in on the blogs I have CHOSEN to follow for reasons pertinent to me.

How dare WordPress tell me my choices don’t count!

I hope this is a glitch of some sort that will get fixed pronto because this new Reader is so awful I really am tempted to leave WordPress altogether. Only the thought of losing all the material I have created during the last four years is stopping me.

Not happy WordPress. This time you really have gone too far.

A.C Flory

Meeka’s Mind

https://acflory.wordpress.com

17/2/2016

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

12 responses to “#WordPress Devs….just stop it! This #Reader is 0/5

  • Hariod Brawn

    I’ve found the only vaguely reliable way of being informed about new posts from blogs I subscribe to is to have email notifications as well as looking in The Reader. Problems seem ubiquitous with the latter. Glad to see you are now hunky-dory.

    Like

    • acflory

      -waves at Hariod- Yes, I get email notifications for my ‘family’ of bloggers but I’d never get through my inbox if I received notifications from everyone. Reader was/is my hybrid way of keeping up. You’re right about it not being reliable though. I hate to think how many angry posts I’ve written about it, just in the last year. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  • Carrie Rubin

    Oh dear, it better be a glitch. I don’t get email notifications so I rely on my reader. I’m scared to log out now and log back in. Not sure what I’ll find. :/

    Like

  • Mr. Merveilleux

    It’s fixed now! Must have been a glitch.

    Like

  • roughseasinthemed

    Since I joined they have continuously wrecked Reader. But, at least you know when someone has commented. Blogger never offered that.

    Like

    • acflory

      I think I gave Blogger a try for about 5 minutes, another reason for not wanting to up stakes. Plus I guess I can’t have been the only person screaming blue murder this morning. I just wish they’d treat us with a bit of respect – I wouldn’t mind beta testing new designs if they warned us before hand or something.

      Like

      • roughseasinthemed

        I thought the theory was we are beta testing changes before they roll things out to wordpress.org. We just don’t get to provide feedback apart from hundreds of irate people flooding the forums. Once in a blue moon they reverse a change eg they scrapped making an email to notify people of new comments the default that we had to opt out of, not into, and they slightlytweaked the new reader changes last time around. I can’t think of a single improvement they have made since I joined though.

        Like

        • acflory

          Yes, you’re right, but I can’t see the .org users liking most of those changes either. I know I wouldn’t, especially if I had to pay for them.
          The thing I still resent the most, however, is how they keep trying to get rid of the only dashboard that let you do all sorts of clever things. We still have it but with each new iteration they hide it in a different place. grrrrrr

          Like

          • roughseasinthemed

            Yes, I use the old dashboard too. And html for writing posts.
            It seems every change goes for dumbing down, and I like control not someone else’s view of what makes life ‘easy’ or ‘user-friendly’ 👿

            Like

          • acflory

            Exactly! There’s also the question of functionality. I have no idea how or even if the new system allows you to search through your own posts for things you’ve done in the past. And where are you supposed to find ‘shortlinks’ to those posts?

            Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy!

