#Audiomachine – An Unfinished Life

Music has always played a huge role in my writing, setting the mood and acting as a conduit for the emotions of the story, so it has to be something I can listen to for weeks and months at a time – literally, the same music, on repeat, for hours per day.

For Vokhtah, this creative soundtrack was provided by Two Steps From Hell [TSFH]. For Innerscape, however, I needed something more emotional, and dare I say it, romantic. Enter German composer Jo Blankenburg. His four albums – Elysium, Vendetta, Floatovations and Feather Dance – have been woven into the fabric of Innerscape since its conception in 2012.

But what do you do when the music you have been listening to for so long stops taking you to ‘that place’? You go looking for new music, that’s what.

As luck would have it, I did find some stunning new music by Jo Blankenburg, but there was a catch – as it hasn’t been released yet, the only way I can listen to it is by streaming it from SoundCloud.

Now don’t get me wrong, SoundCloud is a lot of fun, but when you have a 60 GB download limit per month, it’s not quite cost effective.

-avoids looking at the Offspring-

As a result, I’ve had to ration my music, and that is not conducive to creativity.

But I digress. While putting together my SoundCloud playlist, I stumbled on the playlists of other people with similar tastes and thanks to one of them, I discovered Audiomachine’s Guardian at the Gate, which eventually led to their Tree of Life album.

Those of you who have seen The Hobbit may find the tracks familiar. As I haven’t seen The Hobbit it was all new to me, but the track, ‘An Unfinished Life’, grabbed me by the gut and hasn’t let go :

The reason I’m making such a big deal about this is that I’d actually heard Audiomachine before… and didn’t like their music all that much. The tracks were all big and epic, much like Two Steps From Hell, but without that lyrical quality that TSFH’s Thomas Bergersen brings to all his music. So imagine my surprise at discovering this lovely, emotional, soft side to Audiomachine?

The actual composer responsible for Audiomachine’s Tree of Life album is Danail Getz. Finding information about him has been surprisingly hard, but apparently he was born in Bulgaria, studied music there and did so well he was offered a scholarship to the US. From there he progressed to movie soundtracks before finally turning to trailer music.

I guess that’s where Audiomachine comes in because it’s not a band, its a company and as such, it probably ‘out-sources’ to composers like Getz as the need requires.

It’s kind of an odd way of creating music, but I’m not complaining; I have new writing music, I’ve discovered a new composer and hopefully some time in 2016, Jo Blankenburg will bring out a new album featuring the tracks I want to hear. Life’s good. πŸ™‚

cheers

Meeks

 

 

 

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

11 responses to “#Audiomachine – An Unfinished Life

  • Colin

    I don’t think I ever stop listening to music. Weird, now that you mention this. I tried to think of what I listen to ‘to get into the mood’, and I realised that I listen to everything. I don’t have this eclectic mix I take out, because I rarely sit down and choose. I just put my headphones on, and we’re off. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • acflory

      -grins- It’s generational. When I was a tech writer I couldn’t understand how my daughter could possibly work with ‘all that noise’ going on.

      Then I started writing fiction and discovered that precise and logical did.not.work! To stop being precise and logical I gave music a try. And /that/ did work, but being late to the whole ‘working with music’ process, I found I have to have certain kinds of music to get me in the mood and keep me there. For example, I can’t listen to anything with English lyrics coz then my brain latches onto the words of teh song instead of the words on the page.

      Like

  • laurieboris

    Hmm. I need to check this out, thank you. I love finding new music. (Well, new to me, that is.). Several I’ve stumbled across because an author mentioned the artists in his/her book! Sigur Ros is now a favorite because of that.

    Like

  • davidprosser

    Blimey, I’d have stopped saving for a new car if I’d known a pesky CD would have done !!
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Like

  • dvberkom

    Lovely and haunting. Thank you!

    Like

  • marianallen

    I never could listen to music while writing. It interferes with catching the rhythm of the different characters’ speech, maybe? If I DID listen to music while writing, this sounds like a good one to try. Thanks for sharing your experience and your new discovery!

    Like

    • acflory

      It’s hard to explain but after a while the music acts a bit like white noise, allowing me to ‘see’ and ‘hear’ better. But you seem to get there just fine without any music at all so… πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy!

