#Dollshouses and micro-houses

Did you know I used to build dollshouses? I did, and the pic below is proof:

dollshouse 005

 

This dollshouse, and two others, were ostensibly made for the Offspring, but if I’m honest I have to say I made them for myself as well. We were renting for a long time, and I think these small houses soothed the need to create a people-sized house of my own.

If you look at the left hand side of the pic you’ll see a white plate on the wall with a chrome handle sticking out. That is the winder for one of the fire-resistant shutters in my office.

The plate is aboutΒ  5-6 inches long in the old parlance, so you can see that the dollshouse next to it isn’t all that small. Today, however, I stumbled across some wee houses that truly are tiny. Created by Rosa de Jong, these micro-houses fit inside large test tubes!

I’d show a picture of one of them but a post I read yesterday has put the fear of the Creative Commons in me. I do not want a fine for displaying something that maybe I shouldn’t. Sadly the operative word is ‘maybe’. I thought I knew how copyright worked on the internet but now I’m not so sure. Working out what is and is not ‘free’ to post is bloody hard and I’m going to take the easy way out.

Anyway, copyright aside, if you go to the following site you can read a post which includes legit pictures of the test-tube houses:

http://www.thisiscolossal.com/2015/12/vertical-dwellings-rosa-de-jong/

Enjoy. πŸ™‚

Meeks

p.s. My thanks to Marian Allen for introducing me to these lovely little landscapes.

 

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

19 responses to “#Dollshouses and micro-houses

Don't be shy!

