#Apple and climate change

apple logoย “Apple announced Thursday that its China operations are now 100 percent powered by renewable energy, leaving it carbon neutral in the country. That brings them in line with its U.S. operations, which are likewise run off 100 percent renewable energy.

Worldwide, Apple says its operations are now 87 percent green…”

Read the rest of this Venturebeat article here:

https://wordpress.com/read/post/feed/26908997/841304834

I don’t particularly like Apple the company, or any of the Apple products. I don’t even like iTunes very much. But. I. Do. Like.Their. Position. On. Climate. Change.

I also admire the fact that one of the biggest, most popular companies in the world is putting its money where it’s mouth is. Now if only governments worldwide could do the same.

cheers

Meeks

p.s. Would you believe this is my 700th post? I know. Me neither.

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

26 responses to “#Apple and climate change

  • George Panayiotou

    Still, as far as i know, their PCBs may contain materials that are harmful.
    Yes, their offices might be carbon neutral but there was a report that their machines aren’t as much. I haven’t munched on an apple pcb to know for sure btw, don’t want to brake my mac. I just put some stickers on it…
    And i’m not so sure on how good those policies are. I mean google is also telling that it’s trying, but what they are measuring is also including scrubbing factories near by or something like that. Their compounds are emitting some carbon, but they are paying for the operation of a clean energy unit near by? or some unit that sucks air and rids it of carbon.

    Like

    • acflory

      Hmm…yes, or perhaps they’re buying carbon credits as well, but at least they are making an effort. I guess innovating materials and processes to truly reduce carbon will only happen when it’s also the most cost effective solution.

      Like

  • davidprosser

    I’m with you on this one. A company attempting to d the right thing and leading by example. Time the Governments followed suit.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Like

  • D. Wallace Peach

    I love it when a business leads the way. It shows all the other industries what’s possible.

    Like

    • acflory

      Yes and I don’t think Apple is alone. I remember reading about another big corp. not long ago, but of course my stupid brain can’t remember which one. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
      Anyway, the optimist in me hopes this is a real sign of things to come.

      Liked by 1 person

  • roughseasinthemed

    Some years ago I subscribed to an ethical consumer magazine. Apple was crap in various levels of scoring.

    Trouble is, I do like them. Used them years back as a journalist and all the decent graphic designers I worked with used them too. I’m not interested in the add-ons, it’s the basic simplicity, speed, and total design that I like. Hardware is unreliable too ๐Ÿ™‚

    Would I still buy more? Yes. Because I can’t bear Microsoft. It is so turgid it is beyond belief. I like fast. And top of the range Apple does fast and simple. Each to our own. I guess they programme built-in obsolescence. Although maybe the keyboard sticking could be due to dust and dog fur?

    Like

    • acflory

      “dust and dog fur”…yes!
      I dislike Micro$oft to bits too, but it runs on pcs, and I know how to clean an ordinary pc keyboard where I wouldn’t dare touch an Apple one. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

      • roughseasinthemed

        Well it’s eight years old so I’m just biding time until I buy a new one really. I’ve worked out what model I want, I just don’t want to pay for it. Going back to a desktop though, I like the bigger screen, even though I got a 21″ laptop last time. They don’t make that size anymore anyway. I could get the keyboard cleaned but might as well put the money towards the new one.

        Like

        • acflory

          I’ve never owned a laptop, but what I’ve seen of other people’s – they still weigh a ton and those track thingies are machiavellian! Desktops rule. And they’re great for gaming as well. ๐Ÿ™‚

          Like

        • roughseasinthemed

          I’ve got two laptops, macbookpro and an HP. I didn’t get the Mac as a portable, rather more for the fact I don’t have much space in the flat. The HP is light but, well, it’s Microsoft. I’ve also lost the battery โ€ฆ
          The only remotely ‘game’ thing I do is a speed-related word quiz on sploofus. I justify this on the grounds it’s words so therefore work-related ๐Ÿ™‚ I went from using a mouse with the DT, the whatever it’s called on the LT and use fingers on touchscreen iPad now. Each time I’ve changed, I’ve got back up to the previous speeds so I think it’s a question of practice and adjustment with the main priority being eye/finger co-ordination.

          Like

        • acflory

          Yes, that’s true – like learning how to use a controller with video games, but I can’t for the life of me work out how you ‘type’ on a touch screen???

          Like

        • roughseasinthemed

          Like a smartphone. Keyboard comes up. You can use one or more fingers and thumbs. I just use first finger ๐Ÿ‘†

          Like

        • acflory

          lol – but it’s so small! I don’t have huge hands but I find typing anything on my mobile painful, even with predictive text.

          Like

  • dvberkom

    Yay Apple! I’m not a Mac or Apple devotee, but any company that sets a good example is ok by me.

    btw, congrats on #700!

    Like

  • Jay

    I’m not big on Apple either, and while I still don’t consider them green, I think all steps in the right direction are important.

    Like

  • Candy Korman

    I may be the only Apple person in your circle. (From my first computer on… nothing by Apples) This switch makes me proud, but there is a glitch (isn’t there always) on NPR (U.S. National Public Radio) yesterday, the business report included a big potential problem. The electrical grid in China may not be able to handle the switch and other solar experiments are just sitting there in a coal driven economy. Hopefully, they will fix the problems and, as the report I heard said, other manufacturers in China will follow suit and move from coal to solar power.

    Like

    • acflory

      Meh….two steps forward, one step back. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But at least China is actually conscious of the need to move from a carbon economy so will do something about it. If the Three Gorges project is anything to go by, it will be big and drastic, but also effective. I just wish the current Liberal govt here could see the writing on the wall. The PM [Prime Minister] can, but he’s tied hand and foot.:(

      Like

  • EllaDee

    I’d like to be thrilled by this bit of news but my natural sceptic wonders about details… details… and how Apple quantifies the 87%. However, my look on the bright side self thinks at this stage of the game any concession to clean and green is worth something ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  • Russel Ray Photos

    Now if they would simply bring all those jobs back to the U.S.!

    Apple lost me as a customer back in 1983, for this lifetime and the next, and nothing they have done in the ensuing years has encouraged me to give them a fourth strike.

    Like

    • acflory

      I haven’t used an Apple product since the mid 80’s when our family business bought one of the first Macintosh computers. The idea of having a graphic interface was nice…if you knew what each icon was meant to represent, but I found it a lot faster to use DOS commands. Yes, now there is proof positive that I’m ancient!
      Long story short, I didn’t like them then and I don’t like them now so I won’t be buying their products either, green or not green. But I do dislike them less. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

Don't be shy!

