This is how handwriting with the iPen will work on the iPad Pro

Handwriting on a tablet… hmmm….what a horrible idea. I know some writers prefer to create using pen, paper and longhand, but I’ve been typing for about 40 years, and I simply can’t write longhand anymore. It’s tiring. My hand freezes up. And the end result? Chickens could do better.
But this handwriting technology does highlight the direction of technology for the foreseeable future. Ah well…

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

6 responses to “This is how handwriting with the iPen will work on the iPad Pro

  • EllaDee

    I think as a society we’ve lost much of the muscle memory of handwriting. Like you I’m far more proficient on a keyboard-pad. Throughout my childhood I was one of the few people who could decipher [and forge!] Dad’s handwriting… the reason for this is now apparent, my own has devolved from my creatively fashioned teenage script to the same cyphers.

    Like

    • acflory

      That is such a good point! I hadn’t thought of muscle memory yet that is exactly what we’ve lost. I remember my Dad wrote in copperplate his entire life. I hope we never completely lose the skill of writing the old-fashioned way, even if it is chicken scrawl.:D

      Like

  • anne54

    I have read of research that says handwriting helps to forge the brain connections when children are learning to read and spell. Physically making the shapes is an important part of the process. If this is true, it will have big implications for literacy.
    As a side issue, I also hear that Prep teachers have to teach children how to Use a mouse, because children are so used to touch screens at a very young age.

    Like

    • acflory

      It’s an interesting situation because in some ways, mobile devices that use some kind of a ‘pen’ for data input will be helping to keep handwriting going. I’m not so sure handwriting is necessary for the creation of connections in the brain though. I think anything that reinforces the visual recognition of the shapes of letters will have the same effect. So for example, learning how to type /should/ do the same job. In fact, learning how to type could help kids learn unrelated skills such as playing a piano.

      I studied piano for ten years and the motor skills I learned definitely helped me become a good typist later in life. I can’t really see why the same thing could not happen in reverse.
      More worrying is some of the research about the deficits to concentration from reading on screens. :/

      Like

Don't be shy!

