Data Solutions Australia – my data for sale

angryI have just hung up from Data Solutions Australia, a company dedicated to providing mailing list and telemarketing list data to other companies who then use those lists to chase sales.

http://www.dsadata.com.au/contactus.aspx

I rang Data Solutions Australia because my landline is an unlisted number, yet I keep receiving unsolicited telemarketing calls on that number.

I value my privacy, otherwise I would not pay for the privilege of having an unlisted number in the first place.

I value my privacy and do not toss my private information about willy nilly.

I value my privacy, and I get mad when commercial interests use my private information against me, without my knowledge or consent.

I value my privacy and should not have to opt-out of these advertising/sales campaigns.

Data Solutions Australia promised to take my information off their database, and I intend to hold them to that.

Not happy,

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

8 responses to “Data Solutions Australia – my data for sale

  • anne54

    We have to be so vigilant with our personal information and the whole notion of Privacy is out of whack. We can have companies harass us over the phone, usually at dinner time. And yet there are situations like the Fella had. He had to find out for his son, who was overseas, if a particular company had received a piece of information from the Son. The Fella wasn’t able to get even a yes/no answer because of Privacy issues. 😟

    Like

    • acflory

      Hah! Yes, it seems companies have special privileges we private individuals don’t.
      I followed the link provided by EllaDee and registered for the Do Not Call site, however in a caveat even they say it may not prevent all forms of marketing.
      A simple law requiring that all this stuff be ‘opt in’ instead of ‘opt out’ would change everything. But of course there are vested interested making sure no government does anything so silly.

      Like

  • George Panayiotou

    List their email accounts in unsolicited places, like those that want to sell growth pills.

    Like

  • davidprosser

    Don’t blame you !
    xxx Hugs xxx

    Like

  • EllaDee

    You did the right thing. Once you ask them not to call, legally they are obliged not to. Even if you are a customer and have provided your details directly, you can request no contact or contact by mail only for marketing purposes. Often small print for competitions, giveaways, surveys, registration of details etc will indicate further use of your details for marketing purposes or on-supply unless you advise otherwise.
    Have you registered your numbers on the Do Not Call Register? https://www.donotcall.gov.au/ It’s worth doing.

    Like

    • acflory

      Thank you! Just finished registering my landline and mobile. I had no idea there was such a site, and I must say I’m pleasantly surprised by how quick and easy the process was. Much appreciated. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy!

