Faces

The SamuraiWhen I was eight, I’d race home from school so I could watch a Japanese TV show called The Samurai.

It was about a noble Samurai called Shintaro and his lovable but slightly daft side-kick/friend the good ninja.That’s them on the left.

Needless to say, I loved them both, and I loved the beauty of the minimalist Japanese decor and the moral values each episode upheld. In a way it was a Japanese version of King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table. And it had a profound effect upon me. Fast forward ten years and it influenced my decision to study Japanese at university.

But what does any of this have to do with faces?

Well, I wanted to explain why I have always loved Asian faces. Some women go for Jocks; I like short, dark and inscrutable. And the other day I found the face that sings ‘Kenneth!’ to me.[Kenneth is one of the main characters in Innerscape].

I don’t normally attach real faces to fictional characters but this face was just so perfect I could not resist. Kenneth is not meant to be Eurasian but this face reminds me of a cross between say Jet Li and John Cusack:

maybe kenneth 1

I think I may have found my Miira as well, but she is Eurasian so finding the right balance has not been easy. This is how I imagine her when she’s being the Lady of Dhurai.

maybe miira 3

Let me know what you think. Do these faces enhance your enjoyment of the story, or do they hobble your imagination and put you off?

cheers

Meeks

 

 

 

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

16 responses to “Faces

  • Honie Briggs

    Both are beautiful faces. When reading, I often picture a character when it seems they have something in common with or remind me of someone I know/have known in real life.

    Like

    • acflory

      -nods- That’s one reason I don’t normally set the appearance ‘in stone’ with a visual – people should be allowed to visualise the characters more or less as they please. But…these faces are beautiful aren’t they?

      Like

  • Candy Korman

    Sometimes I “cast” my fictional characters too. Of course, if someone options one of my Monsters and makes a movie they can cast it any way they want. hehehehe…. And those are two very nice faces!

    Like

  • pinkagendist

    I’ve always liked Asian faces too. I can’t find the right words, but the lines are ‘cleaner’ than European faces. They also seem to have much better skin.

    Like

    • acflory

      Yes, I think you’re right about the clean lines but I suspect the skin is probably diet – i.e. they have a generally more healthy one than we do. Although apparently that is changing. I read somewhere that they like ice cream. πŸ™‚

      Like

  • davidprosser

    I’d say that’s a fantastic face for Kenneth but it’snot at all how I imagine Miira as there’s nothing in the book (unless I missed it again) to indicate an Eurasian face. I think I saw her more as an older Ingrid Bergman figure. I bet you thought I’d say Katie Hepburn, see how much control I can show!
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Like

    • acflory

      Oops! Thank you, you’ve just reminded me that the Eurasian bit has just been in my head, not on paper. 😦 For the record, Miira’s father is Chinese and her mother has a Caucasian parent in her background. I’ll post the ‘other’ Miira faces once the betas have read more of the story. Don’t want to accidentally give anything away. πŸ˜€

      I’m really glad you like the Kenneth face. Getting him right was important.

      Like

  • EllaDee

    P.S. Meeks, you are brilliant! I just ordered the G.O. The Samurai 30 DVD box set for his birthday πŸ™‚

    Like

  • EllaDee

    The G.O. was also a fan of The Samurai!

    I imagine my own faces and voices but am happy to get a bit of help. A fan of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander, the TV series characters have enhanced my appreciation of it. I have a friend who swears audio books superior when narrated with relevant accents & inflections. Have you given a though to speech?

    Like

    • acflory

      Speech? Um, as in who I’d get to voice act? Hmm… for Miira I’d love Cate Blanchet. πŸ˜€ I honest don’t know about Kenneth.
      -giggles- I’m going to obsess about this now!

      Like

  • Carrie Rubin

    I don’t mind having a visual for characters. In fact, when I create my own characters, I often include a picture in Scrivener of what I think they would look like. Thanks goodness for Google.

    Like

Don't be shy!

