Innerscape Part 1 on Wattpad

Some of you may remember a story I posted a couple of years back – hot off the Nanowrimo 2012 press – called Innerscape?

-cough- Well, for the odd one out there who does remember, I’ve finally finished the whole damn thing. Some parts are still the same, which is a bit of a miracle, but the whole thrust of the story has changed. There are a gazillion new characters, not to mention a proper plot complete with an evil corporation and a red-headed villain-ess.

There is also love, quite a bit of it actually, but I would not call the story a romance.

And finally there are questions about right and wrong and the slippery, grey area in between the two. I’m still wrestling with those questions and I won’t be able to write a sequel until I find some answers that ‘feel’ right to me. Your feedback on that score will be very welcome.

Okay, on a more technical note, the story is quite long, and unlike anything else I’ve ever written before, it demanded to be told in parts. There are currently 7 of them. They range in size from 10,000 words to over 20,000 so I recognize that size could be an issue [no pun intended!]

The number of parts will probably be an issue as well. Initially, I would like to publish Innerscape as a serial, with each part going live as I finish final edits [based on beta reader feedback]. But even if I charge $1 or 99c for each part, the total cost is still outrageous – i.e. $7 for the whole lot.

Pricing is even more of a thorny issue given that I will eventually publish a sort of omnibus of the entire series. One possible option is to publish two parts at once, which would work for the shorter ones but would not work for the novella length ones.

-sigh- More feedback needed!

And now, finally, I’ll get to the Wattpad part. Wattpad is a site that aims to bring readers and writers together. The way they do this is by providing a forum for aspiring writers to post some or all of their writing. For free. Readers then check it out and provide feedback. That, at least, is the theory.

As many of you have already read the Nano version of Innerscape, I wanted to provide the new, improved first part for free. Amazon, however, does not like putting things up for perma-free so I thought Wattpad might be the perfect solution.

If you’re interested, you can find all of Part 1, Induction [15 chapters, approx. 22K words] at:

http://www.wattpad.com/myworks/38111538-innerscape,-part-1,-induction

The reader side of the Wattpad interface is quite nice, with an automatically generated table of contents, chapter sizes and tags. The writer side I’m not too thrilled by as the interface doesn’t feel at all intuitive, but that could just be because it isn’t like Word or the WordPress editor or even my beloved StoryBox. Nevertheless, it does get the job done so if you like the idea of Wattpad then give it a try.

[I’m no expert but if anyone’s stuck I’ll be happy to post a quick how-to].

Now, the downside of all this is that to read my story on Wattpad you will have to sign up for Wattpad. I’m sorry, and I will understand if you don’t want to sign up to one more website. We’re all suffering from social media overload! That said, if you do read Part 1, I will obviously love you forever. πŸ˜€

cheers

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

11 responses to “Innerscape Part 1 on Wattpad

  • metan

    Yaaaay! Well done on finishing it. I’ve never looked at wattpad before, I’ll have to head over and check it out.

    Have you thought of putting it on iBooks on the iTunes Store too? I see lots of books there that are a free first taste and then the subsequent chapters/stories are 99c.

    Like

  • davidprosser

    I’m part way into the Innerscape saga. I’m having a wee problem putting it down but a bigger problem finding the time to read it uninterrupted.I’m thinking f taking a week off my blog to indulge myself.
    I know Meeks wants feedback from her readers, but be warned, you just may have to create a new 6* category for this. The writing is excellent and the characters believable as is the the premise of Innerscape even though it’s so far in the future.
    I’m sure many of you will finish it before me but will enjoy it just as much.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Like

  • dvberkom

    Oooh! Excellent! I’ll check it out this weekend. Thanks!

    Like

  • EllaDee

    Fabulous. I really want to read Innerscape… but a little short on time at the moment. Hopefully the weekend will see a lull! I’m so excited!!!

    Like

  • EllaDee

    Meeks… it’s marvellous. I love it, and it scares me.

    I left you a comment on Wattpad, however for the benefit of everyone else:

    The beginning to Innerscape is wonderful. Too wonderful, for me being someone who is much attached to the actual world in all its guises – good & bad and limitations and reality. I read, mesmerised at what the story depicts and hyper-aware of it all being too non-real & too-possible. I liked Miira so much, that I didn’t want to because it might hurt further along. It’s good, very good but far to unreal taking me into visions of a world that I hope will never eventuate. That said, I want to read more and see how it might be.

    Like

    • acflory

      -massive hugs- THANK YOU! I’m almost ready to ask for betas to volunteer – would you be interested? Being a beta isn’t too awful – just a case of reading and being honest about any ‘what the…?’ moments you may have. i.e. when you find plot holes big enough to drive a MAC truck through. πŸ™‚

      Like

Don't be shy!

