LITTLE WORLD,GOODBYE

A big picture view of our times from someone who has seen the world change, almost beyond recognition.

The English Professor at Large

At this stage of my life, I know I know nothing……except that the world is drastically changing. The United States is changing into a country that is foreign to me. When I was a teenager, we were engaged in WW2, but the United States was united. People pulled together to sacrifice, to learn to do without, to use ration books, to worry together about our friends and family overseas, some in Europe, some in the South Pacific, or about a bomb attack when the air raid sirens screamed.  At the beginning of the war, I lived in New York. During the last years, I lived in California, so I experienced both coast’s qualms and fears. we all did something. I was a volunteer in the American Women’s Hospital Reserve Corps in NY, volunteering at a hospital during the summers. My father gave blood once a month. My mother knitted for…

View original post 430 more words

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

4 responses to “LITTLE WORLD,GOODBYE

  • EllaDee

    “Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.”
    ― Martin Luther King Jr.
    Or as we say in Australia, “if you see something, say something”. It matters not what, we need to lend our voices, only then will the chorus be heard even if a single voice may be lost.

    Like

    • acflory

      -grin- Never been prouder than when I saw a young aussie woman stand up for that Muslim couple on the train. If we all did just one small act of justice the whole bloody world would be a better place. Well said, EllaD, well said!

      Like

  • davidprosser

    I agree with what you said in answer to this but think that Politics and Politicians need to undergo a sea change and be made answerable to their constituents for their performance in order to bring about real change in Government policies that favour the people and not big business.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Like

Don't be shy!

