16 responses to “One internet identity to bind them all…

  • Stephanie Allen Crist

    I learned a trick to help with this problem from my husband. Come up with one or two usernames that will (most likely) fit universally and then come up with two to three passwords (and a few variations of each) that can be used universally amongst the three of them. This means you have fewer options to try as you try to remember.

    Since I’ve implemented this system, I have not had to recover a password (unless there has been outside interference) and I haven’t been hacked yet. Those that involve money are the most secure variations.

    Like

  • Candy Korman

    I’ll sign up for the “universal ID” as soon as they come up with one that isn’t vulnerable to hacking. Right now… Let’s get some geniuses working on it!

    Like

  • anne54

    While I grumble to myself about passwords and logins, I had never thought about a universal one. It is a really interesting idea. The security issues should be manageable, although no system is ever going to stop those determined enough. Like EllaDee I have scribbled note that made sense at the time — oh the liberation of being able to throw them away!!

    Like

    • acflory

      I’m no expert on encryption but apparently there’s a thing you can do with ‘keys’ that is very secure – but it’s horribly unwieldy except between two people. However if you had a central ID ‘bank’, you would essentially login to the ‘bank’ and the ‘bank’ would then login to the 3rd party site. Secure and convenient.

      Of course, once you had a system like that, you can bet your bottom dollar all the hackers would be challenged to break into the ‘bank’… and eventually someone would. Hmm…I could write a short story about that… lmao 😀

      Like

  • davidprosser

    Something like a pin number of no less than six numbers/digits should be safe enough if it consists of capitals and lower case.
    The trouble is we’d either have to start again by registering with each site we use, or rely on them to have a way to change our passwords from the existing ones (which most do).If the existing agreements stay in place that the corporations don’t have the right to share our passwords with anyone, we should be able to keep them out of the hands of Governments.
    Actually we could probably do that now. Online banking uses a similar system and it’s supposed to be safe.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Like

    • acflory

      You make some interesting points about the banking system, David. My bank provides a small token that supplies a random, numeric password in addition to your normal password, every time you log in.

      Not sure I’d want 3 levels of login every time I go to a site but only having to remember one ID and password would be heaven!

      Like

  • Carrie Rubin

    Some of this already exists in that you can sign in with Twitter or FB on some sites. But then that site has access to those accounts, and another morsel of our privacy is gone. But yes, having one universal log-in would be so useful, and, if well secured as you suggest, it might even be safer. I’m in!

    Like

  • EllaDee

    Don’t tease… it would be wonderful. I have pages of scribbled log-ins and passwords, and still I’m constantly resetting passwords because I’m somewhere the list is not… and although I replicate a few, I use a selection dependent on sensivity of security. A universal fingerprint scan would be the way to go I think, with a second digit backup in case of kitchen or gardening wounds 🙂

    Like

    • acflory

      LMAO – oh yes, I LIKE that idea! I know bio metrics [?] is probably still a long way from being able to give us that degree of ease and convenience, but boy will I be signing up when it is!

      Like

  • Yvonne Hertzberger

    With the right checks and balances against hacking I like that idea. In any case, we can’t really hide. If they want to they’ll hack us.

    Like

    • acflory

      That’s so true, Yvonne. And I can’t help feeling we’d be less likely to be hacked if we weren’t leaving bits of our identities here there and everywhere all the time.

      Like

Don't be shy!

