#PublishingFoul – Scammy Publishers beware!

Back when I first stuck a toe into the stormy waters of Indie publishing, Indies Unlimited saved me from the ‘sharks’ just waiting below the surface. Now, Indies Unlimited is mounting a month long campaign to warn newbie authors of the dangers, and to provide options to those who have already been bitten.

Indie heavy-weights David Gaughran and the Passive Voice are lending their not inconsiderable support to get the message out as far and as fast as they can. The following is an excerpt from the first shot of the campaign:

“Help us spread the word! Vanity presses have slick websites that feature reassuring words and soft-focus photos. They have tons of cash for online ads and preferential placement in search results. All we have is word of mouth. But we have a lot of mouths, and we’re pretty darned loud. Please share our posts far and wide with the hashtag #PublishingFoul.”

#PublishingFoul is where you will find all tweets relating to the campaign.

This post is me doing my little bit. You can do your bit by visiting Indies Unlimited here. You can also come join the debate on the Passive Voice here.

cheers

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

8 responses to “#PublishingFoul – Scammy Publishers beware!

Don't be shy!

