‘Real’ Virtual Reality one step closer

As the pace of writing Innerscape accelerates, I’m finding echoes all over the place, and today was no exception. I found the following excerpt in a Venturebeat article – one of my favourite tech news sources :

“The VR experience is set in the Lord of the Rings universe, with viewers taking on the role of a hobbit thief. It began in a massive treasure chamber, one so large that I had to crane my neck fully to see it all. Dimly lit piles of coins shimmered under my feet. I could see even dimmer caves in the distance, set off by massive statues on either side. I had to physically turn around to take it all in.

Some of the coin piles began to move, with gold sliding down toward my virtual feet. Smaug, an enormous dragon, pushed his face out of a large pile and began to swim around the coins, Scrooge McDuck style. He began to speak in a thunderous voice, claiming that he could smell a thief among his treasures. Smaug circled me, forcing me to turn around in circles to keep track of his motion. His movements and voice became increasingly aggressive — so much so that I caught myself stepping back as he moved nearby….”

You can find the complete article at the following link, including a great photo of Smaug :

http://venturebeat.com/2015/03/04/weta-digital-partners-with-oculus-rift-and-epic-games-for-a-new-vr-experience/

[Translator’s note : Nvidia make graphic chips, Weta created Gollum et al., for the Lord of the Rings, and I assume Oculus created the VR device used in the virtual reality experience.]

I’m definitely not the first to imagine a virtual reality world, but at this rate I may become the first writer to publish a VR story just as virtual reality morphs from science fiction wish list to real reality.

Ouch. I think I twisted my brain with that last sentence. Anyway, enjoy the article while I get back to Miira and co. 🙂

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

8 responses to “‘Real’ Virtual Reality one step closer

  • Candy Korman

    LOL!!!
    Back in the early 90s when VR wasn’t really real, I had a job with a V.R. company. Nothing like being the Marketing Director for a company offering a technology that was more “ether-ware” than reality.

    Loved reading your post & following links to see how far VR has come while realizing that it has not managed to achieve the promise of the early days when we talked about it changing EVERYTHING!

    Like

    • acflory

      Oh my god – you actually did that? Wow. And yes, I know what you mean. I remember being shown very early voice recognition software. All the big companies seem to use it these days but it’s still not quite there is it? lol

      Like

  • EllaDee

    You’re speaking a language unfamiliar to me, but I get that you’re writing, and that makes me happy! 🙂

    Like

    • acflory

      Speaking of happy, I just had a teeny tiny epiphany about why I blog – and I realised that blogging allows me to follow all the weird and wonderful things my brain is attracted to, and share my delight with people who won’t poo poo me or think I’m nuts. That is so damn… LIBERATING! lol
      -hugs-

      Like

  • davidprosser

    Wow, what a vast improvemnt over anything that’s been seen before. This is obviously the company Innerscape will be using in the future. Maybe if I invest now I’ll be amongst the first to experience Innerscape as an investor, I’ve got a reality world to conquer all my problems in.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Like

  • dvberkom

    That is too cool! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

Don't be shy!

