Melbourne, multi-culturalism and Ecca Vandal

My post this Sunday was requested by the Offspring. She has just discovered Ecca Vandal and asked me to promote this young, Melbourne artist.

I was a little leery at first – I’ve never been able to ‘sell’ anything I didn’t believe in myself. However after watching this video clip, I’m well and truly a fan. This girl reminds me of Gwen Stephanie before she became mainstream.

Brash, raw and throwing off sparks of vitality, I give you Ecca Vandal and the White Flag:

And now, if you’re still with me, a little background on Ecca Vandal. Radio station Triple J takes the credit for discovering her, and this is what they say about her background:

“South African born with Sri Lankan Heritage, Ecca Vandal’s parents left South Africa after Apartheid in the late 80s, her parents making the decision to find a stable environment in which to educate their daughters.”

[So familiar this; my parents made the same decision in 1957.]

Apparently the family settled in Melbourne, becoming part of the multi-cultural soup that makes Melbourne such a great place to live. We have  some of the best food in Australia, a vibrant cultural life – thanks to all those who make their home here – and now we have Ecca.

It feels good to be a Melbournite. 🙂

p.s. No Sydney-siders were harmed in the making of this post.

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

4 responses to “Melbourne, multi-culturalism and Ecca Vandal

Don't be shy!

