An inconvenient truth about our bees

I met Michelle [online] last year after the fire we had in Warrandyte. Today I visited her site and found this amazing article on bees, beekeeping, and the importance of bees in our lives. Well worth a read!

Michelle Pini

imagesDSC01526

Sticky Business

Published in Warrandyte Diary

I am standing as far away as it is possible to be while still being able to use the zoom on my camera. I ask beekeeper David Hopday if it is a safe enough distance.

“You should be right … as long as you can run,” he laughs.

After sticking an ungloved hand into a hive full of bees and around which bees are swarming (rather menacingly, I think), David decides I need a closer look. We are not wearing facial protection, but he picks up one of the bee-covered boards from the colony, walks up to me and indicating the part that is oozing with honey, says, “Stick your finger in there.”

“No, thank you,” I manage.

“Go on, it’s beautiful – nectar of the Gods,” he urges.

I hold my ground – impressed that I have gone this far without stimulating those…

View original post 1,144 more words

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

5 responses to “An inconvenient truth about our bees

  • davidprosser

    That was a great post. I know there’s been a lot of concern worldwide about honey bee populations but I had hoped things were improving.
    I was also fascinated by mention of ‘Warranwood’s Biodynamic Community Garden, which produces fruit and vegetables for disadvantaged people’ which sounds such a good idea.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Like

  • Candy Korman

    Here I am in the very urban NYC and I’m happy to report that there are bee keepers/honey makers in the city (rooftop bee keeping) and, even better, all summer long I cheered when I saw bees on the roof of my apartment building. We NEED bees —all over the world. Even in the city.

    Let’s focus on making sure they survive. Our survival is dependent on them. They are a linchpin in ecology.

    Like

    • acflory

      On your rooftop? I know NYC isn’t all skyscrapers but still, that’s amazing. What do they forage? Are you close enough to Central Park or some other park for them to find food?

      What a pity our big cities can’t do what they did in Havana – grow edibles on every available space. Imagine the skyline of NYC with patches of green covering every flat roof!

      Like

  • EllaDee

    I’m always happy to see a bee, they are key measures of a happy, healthy environment. We have a basil shrub at TA that they love, and it’s wonderful to duck in amongst it and them to pick a few leaves… or just inhale the fragance and good vibes. Bees are also a good excuse to leave the lawn and edges long, and flowering weeds in the garden, as well as a visit to the nursery for more flowering things for the birds and bees in the garden!

    Like

Don't be shy!

