EmergencyAus – great tech support!

I recently wrote a post about a smartphone app called ‘EmergencyAus’. It was not a happy post because I was not getting all the available notifications about potential bushfires in my area.

[Note: one of the things I’ve always hated about summer/fire season in Warrandyte is the fear of not knowing when a fire is nearby. By the time ABC radio 774 broadcasts a warning, you’re already on the back foot. What the EmergencyAus app does is send SMS warnings to your smartphone whenever a fire starts anywhere in your ‘watch zone’, i.e. 5 km around my home. But in order to relax a bit, you have to trust that the alerts will get through to you.]

As well as ranting here, on my blog, I also sent off an email to the EmergencyAus tech support people.To be honest I did not expect tech support to do much – email support is very hard at the best of times.

Imagine my surprise, and delight, when I discovered that EmergencyAus tech support really do provide support. Not only did they finally sort out my problems, but they stuck with me through 28, yes TWENTY-EIGHT emails [I know because I just counted them]. That …is patience with a capital ‘P’!

With another hot day coming up, I’d like to say thank you to EmergencyAus for helping me get my peace of mind back. Thanks guys. πŸ˜€

Oh, and in case you’re wondering, the problem seems to be an older version of Android teamed with Google apps that haven’t been updated since the year dot.

cheers

Meeks

 

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

16 responses to “EmergencyAus – great tech support!

  • chrisjames282

    Blimey, girl, you’ve got one Brit here in Poland wishing you nothing but rain. Hang in there, girl πŸ™‚

    Like

  • EllaDee

    I only have a 250 mb data plan so I have my apps turned on to update whenever I’m in a wifi area, and I’ve found that enough to keep everything on track because it is worth keeping up-to-date because if like us you hang onto phones rather than go through the hassle of change over, the apps & fixes are current.
    Kudos to EmergencyAus. and to you for raising the awareness. I bet you’re not the only subscriber in that situation. By you letting them know, it’s something they can address proactively.

    Like

    • acflory

      I’m on the same 250 MB plan, which is partly why I haven’t updated stuff – just scared of going over the limit. But of course this is potentially what happens when you don’t keep up to date. Meh. Now I just have to work out how to go about updating everything. I still don’t have a clear idea in my head how all this stuff works. 😦

      Like

      • EllaDee

        I turn my data off, and only on if Ai want to use it specifically. And as I said, utilize free WiFi. Good spots for me (and may be for you) workplace, library, cafe, train station. Depending on your provider, but with Telstra, if you need one-off extra data you can purchase it cheaper than going over the limit. On my phone updates are under Settings. On Wayne’s the same but there’s also a separate Updates app.

        Like

        • acflory

          hmm…that’s good advice. I’ve had such an emotional block about my phone I literally haven’t learned how to use it properly. But I guess it’s not going away is it? lol

          Thanks EllaD I’ll make that a goal for the near future.

          Like

        • acflory

          Meh – just spent two hours trying to work out how to update the firmware and couldn’t. For some reason, my phone won’t connect to the KIES program on the pc that’s meant to handle the updating. And I can’t find any info on /why/ I can’t connect to KIES. All the info. available seems to be for those who want to take their phones apart and put them back together again. -sigh-

          Now I know why most people buy new phones every couple of years – the manufacturers deliberately make life difficult to make sales.

          Like

        • EllaDee

          From memory KIES is not user friendly…

          Like

        • acflory

          Apparently not. Certainly not with /this/ user. 😦

          Like

  • Carrie Rubin

    Wonderful to hear about a positive tech support encounter. It happens so rarely. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  • davidprosser

    28 emails, blimey no wonder you got some service, it was probably a case of ” Quick, write a new app, it’s that bloody woman again.”
    To be honest, if the emails were divided between you I’m amazed you had the patience to wait for a sensible answer.
    xxx Hugs Galore xxx

    Like

  • Candy Korman

    Glad to hear this!
    You’ll be much safer with early warnings operating properly.

    Like

Don't be shy!

