A changing of the guard amongst my posts

top posts pic for 13 jan 2015 2

It’s 9.43am on January 13th, 2015, and for the first time in almost two years, the top post on my blog is not ‘How to use the USB cable to transfer photos from the Samsung Galaxy SII….’ [etc]. And I’m rapt!

That particular post has brought a grand total of 63,882 visitors to my blog, and well over 100 comments. It also catapulted me back into teaching/training, so I am grateful, very grateful, but I’m glad it’s on the way out.

The reason that post is on the way out is because the technological niche it served is getting out of date. In a word, the Samsung Galaxy SII phone has been superseded by newer phones, and users have upgraded away from the SII.

But why does this make me happy? Don’t I like having so many people coming to the blog? Isn’t it a great way to get my name out there?

Well, last things first – no, the people coming to read that particular, how-to post are not interested in my other posts on bushfires, or climate change, or… heavens forbid, science fiction. The search engine brings them in [thank you Google]. They read. They may leave a comment. And then they go. Which is exactly what I would do if I were simply looking for information.

That said, a few visitors may read one of my other how-to posts, or even one of my more general posts, but in terms of generating visibility, I don’t think that how-to post has done much to increase the awareness of my presence online.

Which brings me to the middle question : don’t I like having people come to the blog? The simple answer is YES! I have loved each any every person who left a comment about the Samsung Galaxy SII post. But… those lovely people have been like ships passing in the night; they didn’t stay.

And finally, the first question last : why am I happy that my single most popular post is on the way out?

That question is a little harder to answer. Part of it is a strange sort of jealousy. I began this blog because the pundits said I had to promote myself in order to promote my book[s]. As I did not, and still do not, like Facebook, or Twitter, a quiet blog was the obvious solution.

Of course, being the contrary little person that I am, I then spent far less time writing about my fiction than I did writing about my other passions. But that was okay. Those passions defined me, and the blog was supposed to be about me as well as my work.

But then I wrote an odd little post that harked back to my technical writing days. I expected it to die a quiet death within 24 hours, but instead it exploded …and kept on exploding for almost two years.

This was not why I had started my blog! This was something that belong to my past. Why was it coming back to haunt me?

I’m not religious, but sometimes I really do feel as if fate is trying to rub my nose in things, and this time it seemed that fate was trying to tell me I needed a day job, as a trainer.

This past year has seen my ponderous ship turn in mid-stream and head off down the teaching path again. I haven’t been wildly successful, but I have had some very satisfying personal successes. Unfortunately, those successes came at the cost of my creative writing. To put it bluntly, this last year has been a terrible year for my writing.

I did have a couple of stabs at writing during the year, but mostly my creativity just fizzled, until recently. I have been writing again since just before Christmas and I feel 20 years younger, and at least 50 years happier!

Even if this rush of creativity fizzles out once I start teaching again, at least I’ll know I’ve accomplished a couple of things :

1. I’ll know that I still have that ‘something’ in me that comes up with ideas, and is in love with words,

2. And I’ll know that I finished the first part of Innerscape exactly on my 62nd birthday this time. [I missed publishing Vokhtah on my 60th birthday by three days].

Innerscape Part One is not published, but I did send it off to one of my wonderful Alpha Readers [also on my birthday], so it is a milestone. Where Part One will go from here is a mystery. At a whisker under 50,000 words, it’s too short for a novel but way too long for a novella, so… -shrug-

For a while there I toyed with the idea of publishing Part One in serial form, but then I realised that people reading it would want to keep on reading it, and the rest of the story is still a long, long way from finished. It simply wouldn’t be fair to publish the start of something that could take me years to complete.

So this point in time is not an end-point, it’s just a milestone. But it’s a milestone that makes me happy, and the decline of the Samsung Galaxy SII post feels like a small, reluctant nod from fate.

I think 2015 is going to be a good year. πŸ™‚

-hugs-

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

16 responses to “A changing of the guard amongst my posts

  • EllaDee

    It’s important to create, mark and celebrate milestones. Well done. And, as well on that note… Happy Birthday. As one who also has a day job, just knowing that the creative spark, desire, ideas are there even though sometimes necessarily incubating, they are alive.
    My top post remains the “ginger cat dream” but it’s people like you who have been around keeping company for years now that are the joy of my blogging life πŸ™‚

    Like

  • Carrie Rubin

    Glad to see you’re reclaiming your blog, so to speak, but think of how helpful you were to those people who visited. That’s another feather in your cap. πŸ™‚

    Also happy to hear you’re getting your creative spark back. Always feels good when we finally get a chance to dive back into our work.

    Like

    • acflory

      -grin- ‘reclaiming my blog’ is exactly what it feels like! And yes, it feels wonderful to be writing solidly again. [knock on wood, throws salt over left shoulder, avoids ladders, can’t avoid blackcats…]

      Liked by 1 person

  • Candy Korman

    Never worry about your various and assorted passions diverting you from blogging about writing fiction. Those other passions, experiences, tastes and musings, all FEED your fiction.

    I’m thrilled that your fiction spark has been reignited. Go for it! WRITE!!!

    Like

  • davidprosser

    I needn’t tell you how delighted I am the writing spark has been reignited. I can stop nagging now.
    I hope you opened your online birthday card and realised the day hadn’t passed by unnoticed. I also hope you managed a dual celebration having reached the birthday and having finished Innerscape part 1. Maybe now your most popular post will be the day you told us that Innerscape was part done.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Like

  • Honie Briggs

    I will be happy to reclaim my blog from the void where it currently drifts. I’m so not having a good time right now, and I know if I tried to write it would show. So, I wait…wait for that spark of life to reignite. 2015 better get better soon! Happy to hear it’s happening on the other side of the planet πŸ˜ƒ. Send some of that mojo my way, would ya?

    Like

    • acflory

      Ugh… -hugs- I know I began to get truly depressed by the end of last year. 😦 For me, the trigger for change was just time – time away from work and time to devote to daydreaming. The writing just seemed to quietly sneak back into my life as I relaxed.

      I really really hope the same happens to you. If not, I’m sure I’ll be joining you again once the pressures of work eat up my creative energy again. :/

      Like

  • dvberkom

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!! And happy birthday! How wonderful πŸ™‚

    Like

  • alexlaybourne

    Milestones are important things to have. Success is not measured by anything other than our own estimations.

    I am getting into technical writing too. I am writing the software user manual for my company, as part of my day job. It is challenging but good fun. Words are words, after all. Any tips would be handy if you have any to share πŸ™‚

    Happy birthday Meeks. All the best for the year. It sounds like you have everything sorted and things are moving in the right direction. 2015 is going to rock!

    Like

    • acflory

      Thanks Alex! And yes, I hope 2015 rocks as well. πŸ˜€

      Re the technical writing, my only suggestion would be to see the software through the prism of ‘tasks’ that the users will have to accomplish using the software.

      There are always more ways of accomplishing something than just one, but if you can get your users comfortable with a basic way of doing something, in time they’ll discover other ways of doing the same thing that work better for their particular circumstances.

      Whatever direction you take, however, I’m sure you’ll do well because, bottom line, writing is always about communication.

      Like

Don't be shy!

