Happy Holidays!

christmas tree 2014It’s Wednesday, December 24th here Downunder, and that means Christmas Eve has arrived, sort of.

Now if you are of Anglo heritage, Christmas Eve probably doesn’t mean much to you. To those of us from a European heritage, however, Christmas Eve is Christmas!

I remember when I was a kid, I’d get all my presents after dinner on Christmas Eve and have the jump on all my friends. Of course the next day, they had the jump on me because they would still have presents to unwrap while all I had was crumpled paper.

By the time my own daughter was born, however, Christmas had already become a three day affair – Christmas Eve with my parents, Christmas Day with his family, and Boxing Day with our friends. Try explaining that to a toddler!

We compromised by unwrapping some presents on Christmas Eve, some on Boxing Day, but most on Christmas morning. Not such a bad arrangement if you’re a kid. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Sadly, most of the kids in our extended family have grown, so Christmas has changed yet again, but one thing has not changed – we still eat far too much!

Wherever you are, and whatever holiday you celebrate, the Daughter and I wish you a Bountiful Table overflowing with good food and the company of friends and family to make it all worthwhile.

-hugs-

Meeks

 

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

14 responses to “Happy Holidays!

Don't be shy!

