KNIT-A-SQUARE…spread the word

I can’t knit to save my life, but I can spread the word of this glorious, grassroots inspired charity. And so can you.

Just for the record, I met Sandy McDonald – the ‘niece in Australia’ – last Wednesday at a Volunteers Day orientation at the Diamond Valley Living and Learning Centre. [DVLC is one of the places at which I do volunteer work].

Sandy was recently asked to deliver a TEDs presentation on her work, and talked to us about Knit-A-Square as well.  Her presentation left me feeling almost uplifted; we can work together, we can make a difference, we can be loving as well as hateful.

But what could I do? I can’t knit, or crochet. I’m too far away to help sew or distribute. I don’t have the money to donate anything worthwhile. 😦

And then it hit me – I might not be able to do all those other things, but I can write, and I have friends who write, and they have friends who write…

The video you’ve just watched has only had about 11,000 views. That’s a drop in the ocean on YouTube. However, if we all talked about it on our blogs or Facebook or Twitter, we might just be able to make it go viral. And if it did, it might be seen by those who could provide some of that ‘extra’ help Knit-A-Square needs.

So how about it? If you can’t knit, can’t crochet, can’t sew, and can’t donate, can you write?

Please. These kids need all the help they can get.

-hugs-

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

11 responses to “KNIT-A-SQUARE…spread the word

Don't be shy!

