Independence in Scotland – the real meaning of democracy

I’m just waiting for my class to begin so this will have to be quick, but how could I let such a momentous moment pass without comment?

Congratulations to the people of Scotland. They have achieved a victory that centuries? of bloodshed and discontent could not. This is the power of the pen, and democracy.

But the wonders of today have just begun. The prestigious golf club – St Andrews – has also voted to allow women to play golf on its hallowed greens …for the first time ever!

I’m neither Scottish nor a golfer, but I love the idea that people power really does work. I haven’t felt this positive about humanity since the bloodless end of Apartheid and the fall of the Berlin Wall. We can make the world a better place. We truly can!

-hugs and a big pat on the back to all-

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

6 responses to “Independence in Scotland – the real meaning of democracy

  • Carrie Rubin

    Do we know the result yet? I’ll have to go check. But yes, it’s nice when we use votes, not bloodshed.

    Like

  • EllaDee

    I think we’re still waiting for the outcome of the vote, but at least the Scots have got to vote, and not carried out the process via war & strife.

    Like

  • davidprosser

    Though I haven’t seen the news yet, I just read on the computer that the Scots voted NO for independence. I don’t know which of us is right. ( I won’t argue St Andrews though).
    I fear if it is a NO vote it isn’t for the right reasons. I know many Scots feared what would happen if they had to lose the common currency and also the benefits that they receive currently would end if the Scottish Parliament couldn’t cover that amount from monies incoming from taxation etc. There was a lot of scaremongering used by the pro-No Vote.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Like

    • acflory

      Sadly, you’re right David – it was a No vote win. I have no idea how I got the wrong end of the stick this morning. Anyway, posted an apology when I arrived home. Face still pink. 🙂

      Like

Don't be shy!

