Paprikás krumpli betataster needed!

Hi guys. I’m just about to race off to work, but I thought I’d throw this at you before I go – can someone betataste this recipe for me please!

Paprikás krumpli [Literally potatoes with paprika]

This is probably one of my favourite examples of poor man’s food because it is so tasty and satisfying – and so cheap to make.
The basic recipe requires only chopped onion, oil [or lard], sweet paprika powder and potatoes. I usually dress it up a little with either bacon or chorizo, or both, but essentially the flavour just gets better the more you add. Just do not add tomatoes. That would take this dish right over into the realms of Italian food.

Basic Ingredients

1 medium onion
1 chorizo [optional]
3 tablespoons of good quality sweet paprika powder
3 large potatoes peeled and cut in 6ths [i.e. big but not too big]
1/2 a teaspoon of salt
3-4 tablespoons of peanut oil [or oil of your choice]
3 cups COI chicken soup [optional] or water

Method

– Chop the onions, and cut the chorizo in bite-sized chunks. Gently saute both in the oil until the onion is translucent.
– Add the paprika powder, mix in and allow to cook for about 1 minute on low heat.

Before the liquid is added

Before the liquid is added

– Add the potatoes, stirring to coat each piece in the paprika mix. Allow to cook very gently for about 5 minutes, stirring frequently. This step is important to get the flavour into the potato before it’s diluted with the liquid.
– Sprinkle with salt and add the soup or water. The liquid should just cover the potatoes.
– Stir and bring to the boil, then cover and lower the heat.
– Simmer until the potatoes are tender and the sauce has thickened a little, and is a rich red in colour.

Serve this dish on its own with fresh crusty bread and a simple salad [traditional], or serve as the accompaniment to a ‘dry’, fairly bland meat.

Many thanks

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

14 responses to “Paprikás krumpli betataster needed!

  • Candy Korman

    I will try this when the weather gets colder. I’m excited about it because a friend just brought me some paprika from her trip to Budapest. Yay! It’s just got to be zingier than run-of-the-mill paprika, right?

    Like

    • acflory

      Oh I’m so envious! You’ll have the real thing. I’m dying to see how it goes. Oh… you might want to reduce the paprika to 2 tablespoons as I’m sure the paprika will be more potent than the one I use. [potent in flavour not in heat!]

      Like

  • pinkagendist

    This sounds extraordinarily Northern Spanish. In Valencia they call it Patatas Bravas, the only difference is it’s done the other way around. Potatoes are parboiled and then shallow fried in olive oil and Paprika, and they’re served with alioli (Spanish for aioli, which basically means make a mayonnaise with a very mild olive oil and add two crushed garlic cloves).

    Like

    • acflory

      Oh my god – that Patatas Bravas sounds divine. I wouldn’t mind the recipe… -nudge nudge wink wink-

      Re the similarities, yes I was surprised at how similar some of the flavours are. I haven’t got a clue why that would be unless it has something to do with the original source of capsicum/paprika??

      Like

      • pinkagendist

        I tried to find you a recipe I could copy/paste- but they’re all wrong! So here goes tradition:
        Dice, just as you did for yours, then boil until just tender. Not soft and breaking apart, just tender enough that you can put a fork in without much resistance.
        Get them out, drain water, let them dry, blah blah
        Heat oil in a frying pan with a whole garlic clove and a tablespoon of paprika in it. Yes, a full tablespoon. No, it’s not too much. I said it’s not too much.
        Before the oil smokes, add the potato pieces. With a wooden spoon, mix it around, coat well and fry until golden.
        Remove and let it sit on paper towels.
        Before serving let sit for at least 5 minutes, 10 is better. This method gives you a sort of paprika fondant potato. Extremely soft on the inside, crispy on the outside. Red.
        Garnish with flat leaf parsley and serve with alioli 😉
        The modern addition of a tomato sauce is absurd. If done properly, the alioli is more than enough, almost overdoing it already.

        Like

  • EllaDee

    Sounds delicious. 🙂 I can probably work this into our menu sometime over the next month, but tell me please what is “COI chicken soup”. I would use macadamia oil rather than peanut if that is ok.

    Like

    • acflory

      Oops! Sorry I took the recipe straight from the draft of the ecookbook – without any explanations.

      Okay, COI stands for Carry Over Ingredent, and basically it means leftover chicken soup. 🙂

      And any help would be greatly appreciated!

      Like

  • Kathryn Chastain Treat

    I hope to embark on the recipes that I got from you this week/weekend. If you don’t find someone to try this, please let me know. I can work around the chorizo and peanut oil.

    Like

Don't be shy!

