Music nostaglia – the Indian Love Call

When I was a kid, I was kind of sickly, or at least I convinced my mother that I was, and so I stayed home quite a bit. Thank god I’m too old for truancy officers!

Anyway, what’s a kid to do at home all day but watch TV? This was back in the [19]60’s, and at midday the TV channels always broadcast a midday movie – usually American, and at least 20-30 years old.

The upshot of all those sickies was that I became quite the connoisseur of Hollywood musicals. Top of my list of favourites were the movies starring Jeanette McDonald, a lovely coloratura soprano, and Nelson Edy, a warm tenor. Something about the two of them together was just magical and I still remember those movies with fondness …when I remember them at all.

Lucky for me, my good friend David Prosser is an expert memory-jogger-a, and its him to blame for this post. If he hadn’t mentioned The Indian Love Call in his blog post, I would never have remembered on my own!

So here is a video clip of the Indian Love Call, plus a -cough- few -cough- other childhood favourites. Apologies to the youngies out there. 😀

And then I remembered Mario Lanza… wait till you hear the boy soprano!

Oh how could I forget Deanna Durbin?

But for sheer fun, no one beat Doris Day. Here’s a clip  from the her movie Calamity Jane!

And on that note I bid thee all farewell .:D

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

13 responses to “Music nostaglia – the Indian Love Call

Don't be shy!

