John Oliver and the Gender Gap

 

I’m A million hugs to Pinky for finding this priceless video clip!!!!! British comedian? John Oliver has created a hilarious but hard hitting expose of the continuing gap between what women and men are paid for the same job.

Ladies, this is a must watch. Gentlemen, wear body armour if you watch this with a significant lady other. ๐Ÿ˜€

Sadly you’ll have to go to youtube to watch because the video clip doesn’t seem to be working here. Just click on the youtube icon as shown below :

youtube icon

enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

10 responses to “John Oliver and the Gender Gap

  • pinkagendist

    Isn’t it odd how people don’t seem to understand the word SAME as in SAME JOB?The statistics take into account people doing the SAME job. Same. It’s not the comparison between a maid and her boss, or a nurse and a doctor.

    Like

    • acflory

      Yup. I particularly ‘liked’ the bit about John and Jennifer. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
      Back in the days when I had aspirations to become a programmer, I took an administrative a job in the IT department of a bank with the understanding that it would be a stepping stone to more formal training.
      18 months after joining I suddenly realised these young men – virtually straight out of school and with no better qualifications than mine, and certainly no experience – were getting sent off for training, one after the other. I meanwhile, sat behind my desk doing timesheets and correcting the boss’ bad spelling.

      I suppose I should have kicked up an almighty stink. Instead I quit. Maybe that is why it’s all the fault of women – we aren’t nasty enough. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Like

  • davidprosser

    I saw this earlier today and despite the subject matter being serious I couldn’t help but chuckle. Ladies I’m on your side honestly, the grin is just for the video.
    xxx Hugs Galore xxx

    Like

  • Candy Korman

    John Oliver is a comic genius.

    Like

  • EllaDee

    I’m not sure if to be pleased or p!ssed off that equal pay for equal work regardless of gender hasn’t been actualised. I recently watched Made in Dagenham, a brilliant movie on the same topic, based on events in 1968… almost my entire lifetime later it still isn’t a reality. The movie also touches on the issue of fair pay which is a capitalist society no go zone.

    “From the director of Calendar girls comes the inspirational and feel-good story of Rita, a plucky factory worker who took on the biggest corporation in the world. In the spring of 1968, what starts as a dispute over pay leads to an uprising amongst the women workers of the Ford Motor Plant in Britain. Rita (Sally Hawkins) is a normal 60s girl. A young mother, all she wants is a good life for herself and her family. Though it’s not the perfect job, sewing car seat covers is all she’s got. When she learns her male colleagues are paid more for the same work, Rita can’t sit back and do nothing. She empowers the women around her to demand what they deserve. To Ford, these courageous women mean nothing. But they hadn’t counted on Rita. She’s a leader, she’s a winner and she’ll change history”.

    Like

    • acflory

      Oh! I hadn’t even heard of that movie. Admittedly I don’t go to the movies a lot. I’ll have to see if I can maybe get it on DVD or something. Thanks for the tip EllaD. And I agree, the women of my generation thought we would be the ones who finally broke the chains. Har de har har.

      Like

  • Stephanie Allen Crist

    lol My solution was simply to work differently, i.e. freelancing. I control what I’m paid and who I work for and the flexibility and benefits I receive. Of course, that’s not to say that men who do the same work couldn’t be earning more, but in that case it really is a reflection of our actual choices.

    Like

    • Stephanie Allen Crist

      As for President Obama, his unwillingness to work with the Congressional representatives is a big issue. There’s only so much he can do by writing the laws himself and he’s already done enough on that score to get him in trouble.

      Like

Don't be shy!

