What a difference a day makes – thanks WP!

I had a bad headache yesterday, the kind that makes you doze miserably all day. Quite frankly, WordPress and Opera were the last things on my mind. I did brace myself for action this morning though… but it wasn’t needed!

WordPress, and my blog are back to their lovely selves, crisis averted. Yay!

But why are we subjected to these crises in the first place?

And why is there never any warning?

I guess those two questions will join all the other, unanswered questions floating around in the webisphere.

Happy Weekend!

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

18 responses to “What a difference a day makes – thanks WP!

  • EllaDee

    So many web based things are a mystery. I reluctantly upgraded from Windows 8 to 8.1 after getting endless prompts that certain apps work better with 8.1… and now my system freezes… according to the forums I’m not alone, Microsoft are aware of the problem but haven’t provided fixes yet. I wonder what was so deficit about v8, which had no obvious glitches that they had to roll out v8.1 which was renowned for issues almost as soon as it was available. I’ll never understand the techie world. Thank goodness for off switches, books and painkillers. Hope you had a better day 🙂

    Like

    • acflory

      Ah the dread 8! I was told that 8.1 was brought out to make 8 a bit more user friendly. Apparently the integrated swipe/touch technology across pc, phone and pad is not a success with users.

      I’ve only had a play with 8 at one of my volunteering jobs, and I can’t see any benefit to users. I can however understand why Micro$oft might think it was a good idea to position it’s OS for the future. Maybe 9 will do the trick. For now I’m staying with 7.

      Like

      • EllaDee

        I had no issues with the swipe/touch feel of 8, which looks/functions similarly to any smart phone screen, and that in 8.1 remains unchanged. The changes 8 to 8.1 appear cosmetic… slight change in how the swipe screen is managed… With my Ultrabook I can choose the traditional 7 screen, or 8.1 swipe, and we’re still using 7 at work also.
        I think Microsoft’s aim is to capture the market of those who have grown up with swipe screen, and little exposure to what we think of as traditional.

        Like

        • acflory

          “I think Microsoft’s aim is to capture the market of those who have grown up with swipe screen”

          Yes, I think you’re right, but I wonder if they haven’t already missed the boat. Apple and Android seem to have the swipe all tied up, and it seems the market is shifting away from desktops to ipads so how will they capture the leisure market by infiltrating the business market? I guess time will tell. If 7 had been a dog, I personally might consider taking the leap, but 8 gives me nothing I want or need. -shrug-

          Like

          • EllaDee

            Widespread Windows Ultrabook advertising campaign currently, and from the number of various types I see being used by people in cafes etc, I think they are successfully bridging the gap between IPads, etc & notebooks, and in due course I believe desktop PCs will be obsolete.
            Stick with what you’re happy with 🙂

            Like

          • acflory

            I’ve survived the onslaught of the GUI, I guess I can survive the swipe as well, but I shall do so kicking and screaming!

            Like

  • davidprosser

    I’m glad you’ve got one less bit of stress to cause the next headache. I hope you have a fantastic weekend- oops sorry, I meant are having a fantastic weekend.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Like

  • Candy Korman

    The WEB is full of unanswered questions and tons and tons and tons of answers to questions that have NOT been asked.

    Like

  • pinkagendist

    For the same reason that the internet goes down and your modem needs to be re-booted on the same day- and you’re stuck wondering which problem is the actual problem…

    Like

  • geooorge

    Well basically, the thing is, there are a lot of stuff in the pipeline that depend on each other. And sometimes a change that would otherwise be nice might change something that was used in a particular way and forgotten, (engineer/programmer that left the company and didn’t document stuff well enough) or something that has a domino effect.
    Sometimes it’s a simple reboot of the server that didn’t have time to propagate to DNS/cache servers.

    Like

    • acflory

      lol – that’s actually the best explanation for software glitches! Except the bit about the DNS/cache servers…that went right over my head. 😀

      Like

      • geooorge

        It’s the server that actually knows where web sites are stored. Your ISP asks for the DNS “hey, where is this acflory.wordpress.com” located? and it replies “It’s in that server.” So when they do something drastic that changes IPs or server … stuff… the DNS might take some time to notice and point at the right place.

        Like

        • acflory

          I vaguely remember having to update my DNS when I moved web hosts, but does the DNS have any way of updating itself? i.e. to check that websites are where they say they are?

          Like

        • geooorge

          Yeah there are mechanisms for that. There could be a dynamic DNS service (like when changing an ISP, or when you use your phone and drive around. The phone is hopping networks.) If you have your own personal server, you may want to manually update those things.
          But most of the time it just takes some time for it to know that something’s changed.

          Like

          • acflory

            Mmm….I’ll take your word for it. I think the internet is a bit like the humble light switch – we all use it, and couldn’t live without it, but few of us know what makes it work.

            Like

Don't be shy!

