An appeal to young Aussies

I’ve thought for a long time that we didn’t live in a democracy. This article by Barry Tucker, a retired journalist, lays it out with as little bias as possible. Well worth the read.

The Sniper

The Sniper*

Australia is in trouble. Young Australians will have to save it, if you decide it needs saving.

Australia was a democracy. It has slowly become a Corporatocracy: government by Big Business. You will have to change that, if you think it is a bad thing. I will not tell you what to think.

You could argue that Australia is still a democracy. Australians vote in free and fair elections to decide who will run things until the next election.

You could argue that Australia believes in the principle of a free Press (or news media generally). The British parliament, the model for ours, recognised the Press as the Fourth Estate, granting it the right to sit in the parliament and report on the affairs of government.

You could argue that nothing has changed and all is sweet in the land of Oz. You could look more closely, dig…

View original post 981 more words

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

6 responses to “An appeal to young Aussies

  • EllaDee

    You, Dadirri and I are of likeminds and as I commented on her re-blog so I will here [and on the original post to be fair]…
    Of course I’m not young, or the young it seems the article was directed at… but I thought the article was worth a read. The Sniper covers a lot of ground and *much of it is worth being aware and thoughtful of… which is why I voted even though I didn’t have much faith on anything on offer… We are in trouble and I still can’t find one person who voted for this government.
    *Wiki – The Australian republic referendum held on 6 November 1999 was a two-question referendum to amend the Constitution of Australia. The first question asked whether Australia should become a republic with a President appointed by Parliament following a bi-partisan appointment model which had been approved by a half-elected, half-appointed Constitutional Convention held in Canberra in February 1998. The second question, generally deemed to be far less important politically, asked whether Australia should alter the Constitution to insert a preamble. For some years opinion polls had suggested that a majority of the electorate favoured a republic. Nonetheless, the republic referendum was comfortably defeated due to sustained opposition from monarchist groups and to division among republicans on the method proposed for selection of the president.

    Like

    • acflory

      Yes I remember that. At the time, many of us thought the ‘two-for-one’ referendum was a cunning ploy to ensure there wouldn’t be enough agreement on the outcome. Whether that’s true or not, the sacking of Gough Whitlam by the Governor General was a rather shocking wake up call, at least to me. I don not like the idea of a Governor General having the ability to do that again. By the same token however, I’m not too impressed with the republics currently on show. I like our Federalism. -shrug- Obviously I’m sitting on the fence on this one.

      Like

      • EllaDee

        Me too. And, the kids in our political playpen don’t seem to understand they are answerable to the voters [except pre-election when they promise ‘I’ll be good’… ] so Nanny GG et al at least provides a semblance of authority… and made an example of naughty Gough.

        Like

        • acflory

          Meh…I actually liked Gough. But even if I didn’t, the political slap on the wrist still smarts. Quentin Price restored some of my faith, but she was the exception to the rule.

          Like

  • davidprosser

    Much of what Sniper says I’m in total agreement with.I could probably rewrite it a warning for the young of the UK. One thing I can’t help but take issue with is this paragraph….
    We have no say in the fact that the monarch of the United Kingdom is also the monarch of the British Empire and therefore the monarch of Australia. Does that seem right to you? Is it appropriate considering that Britain threw Australian and New Zealand (ANZAC) troops into a disastrous invasion of Turkey in World War I and then used them as cannon fodder in Europe? Britain abandoned Australian troops in Singapore in WW II and turned its back on Australia as a trading partner when it joined the European Economic Community in 1973. I won’t tell you what to think, but I will ask you to think about these things when you are asked to decide if Australia should become a Republic.

    I guess the statements made there ARE in fact designed to tell you how to think.While you read of the disastrous invasion of Turkey in WW1 which I won’t try to deny, I would only say that it was not expected to be a disaster. No leader throws his troops away , they expect them to win. If you have to talk of loss of life, look at that wasted at Paschendale and Mons too where the British also took heavy losses.
    Britain didn’t turn it’s back on Australia in 1973, we were friends then and remain friends now. That we joined the EEC was in my opinion a disaster but that wasn’t the UK deserting you, it was some Politicians hoping for more for themselves, and we all have those kind of politicians or we wouldn’t be reading about at Corporatocracy.
    Look at those countries currently without a Monarch or who’ve given up the Monarchy. America, do you really want to end up with a Presidency that is responsible to no-one? France, Greece etc. Then look at the democracies that retain a Monarchy like the UK, Denmark, The Netherlands etc and see the democracies there and how the countries still flourish.The Monarchy are a Head, a Uniting factor over politics that bring all sides together.
    There is talk of us withdrawing from the EU and one party is talking of re-establishing our trading links with the Commonwealth though transport costs were a factor in those links being overturned in favour of getting produce from closer to home in the past, which made sense. I would hate Australia to withdraw from our Commonwealh, I won’t use the term British Empire as that sounds , as was no doubt intended, like we own you. We don’t, we just share a history together that the people of the UK value greatly..
    When asked to decide if Australia should become a Republic, I hope the rhetoric that is meant to inflame you, which is meant to have you believe that ANZAC troops were without value, is not used further and that you can make a decision based on our close ties over the years. We share a Monarch but we in no way govern you, nor would want to.We want to retain our closeness.
    Thank you.

    Like

    • acflory

      -grin- I knew that bit would get to you! If Australia ever does become a republic of some sort I hope it won’t follow the existing models, and I know it won’t be because of any perceived historical slights.

      The thing I found interesting in that article was that it demonstrated how a talented writer can persuade with words. This particular writer was following his conscience, but how many others do?

      Like

Don't be shy!

