Lentil stew – a quick, home-alone recipe

The Daughter is away this weekend, so last night I indulged myself by cooking a lentil stew she hates! If there are other lentil haters out there, turn away now. πŸ˜€

Ingredients

1 plain Kransky sausage [or Chorizo or salami or even just a couple of rashers of bacon]

1 medium onion

2 cloves of garlic

2 tablespoons of tomato paste

1 or 2 sad, leftover fresh tomatoes [optional]

1 x tin lentils

a pinch of cayenne [hot and optional]

1 tablespoon of oil [I use peanut or olive]

Method

Slice the smoked whatever and gently saute in the oil.

While the meat is sautee-ing, finely chop the onion and add to the meat.

Allow the onions to cook for 5 minutes before adding the finely chopped garlic.

Allow the meat mixture to cook for another 5 minutes before stirring in the tomato paste, chopped tomatoes [if using] and the cayenne. Do NOT add salt as the cured meats are salty enough already.

Empty the tin of lentils into a colander and rinse under cold water before adding to the meat mix. Stir, add about 1/4 cup of water and allow to simmer for about 10 minutes. If the stew gets too dry, or looks as if it might burn, add a little more water, but remember – this is a stew not a soup!

The longer you leave the stew simmering the better the flavour becomes, but if you’re very hungry you can serve up as soon as the fresh tomatoes have softened. Last night, total cooking time was about 1/2 an hour.

You can make steamed rice to go with the stew, or even mashed potatoes, but I just ate my quick stew with fresh, crusty white bread. It was delicious, and I had the added satisfaction of knowing I had well and truly had my fibre for the day. Better still, it was faster than getting takeaway, and cost next to nothing as I keep most of the ingredients on hand at all times. If you had to buy in the ingredients this stew might cost $6 – 7, tops.

Lentil stew will never be mistaken for haute cuisine, but if you don’t mind lentils, it will provide a hearty, delicious meal in a hurry.

cheers

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

18 responses to “Lentil stew – a quick, home-alone recipe

  • EllaDee

    I think everyone has favourite meals they make when they’re home alone. My aunt & uncle always treated themselves to curry when my cousin was out. For me, I usually stop at the deli for pate, or make something with rice which the G.O. doesn’t eat.
    Yum, I love lentils, the G.O. will eat them, and this is a perfect homey meal but both of us can only eat just so much because… you know… That said, we grabbed Indian from our favorite local last night because Sydney is soggy and we couldn’t be bothered rousing ourselves from a very lazy day, and I had dahl, darl πŸ™‚ I must grab another tin of lentils for when we do want to indulge as the rest of the ingredients are already on hand, another reason it’s a great meal.

    Like

    • acflory

      Ah hah! I’ve had the traditional Indian version of dahl and I like it, but the Daughter prefers the somewhat bastardized version I cook at home. -shrug- I just really like dahl. And yes, having all the ingredients on hand makes it such a great meal. If you make it and like, please let me know. πŸ˜€

      Like

  • davidprosser

    I’m not 100% sure but i might be with Katie on this one. I’ve eaten lentils in soup before now but I’m not a fan of Cayenne Peppers and garlic. Of course two rashers of bacon is about half the amount I’d want and they’d go in a sandwich with your crusty bread loaded with butter.
    xxx Sending Hugs Galore xxx

    Like

  • anne54

    I think it sounds delicious. I have made a couple of your blog recipes before, and enjoyed them. So I am quite willing to give this one a go too. I like the idea of the sausage.

    Like

  • Carrie Rubin

    I’ve never had lentils, but I’m all for a good soup/stew. But not the red meat part. Haven’t eaten that in years. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • acflory

      I can’t imagine this stew without the smoky flavour of the meat. Perhaps you could substitute some smoked chicken instead. Can you get that over your way? And do you eat white meats like chicken and fish?

      Like

      • Carrie Rubin

        I eat chicken and pork. I should eat fish, but I don’t. Never had a stomach for seafood. But I use a lot of chicken in my soups and often substitute it for beef.

        Like

        • acflory

          My Mum used to make a beef soup with marrow bones but my staple is chicken soup. Nothing beats its gentle, wholesome flavour. Pork is a big favourite too – especially roasted with crackliing. πŸ™‚

          Like

  • pinkagendist

    Fantastic master recipe that everyone should know. The base is the classic formula for most traditional European stews. The only difference would be black pepper instead of cayenne.
    Knowing this you can make Carbonnade, Boeuf Bourguignon and even Chilindron- just by slightly modifying the ingredients.

    Like

    • acflory

      Yes! The cayenne was a last minute addition as I thought the Kransky might be a bit too bland [normally use Chorizo or one of the Hungarian sausages, like Csabai, which have a bit more oomph].

      The lovely thing about this master recipe is that it works with vegetables as well as your standard cuts of meat. Win-win. πŸ˜€

      Like

      • pinkagendist

        It’s a master of masters. Probably between 600 and 1000 years old.
        I think it was Escoffier who laid out the modern version. Personally, I use cayenne too.
        There’s a Portuguese version with black beans and chili peppers that’s extraordinary. They use ham stock, which is something special all on its own…

        Like

        • acflory

          Oh my god that Portuguese one sounds divine. My taste buds are sitting up and begging!

          Being Hungarian, I’ve always loved the simplicity of the proper porkolt base – just onions, sweet paprika powder and beef. Then a swirl of sour cream just before serving. Great peasant food. πŸ™‚

          Like

  • Candy Korman

    Ha ha!
    So similar to my go-to lentil recipe. I’m lentil lover and usually use chorizo but pancetta works too. Same basic idea, I just use dried lentils and stew for a long time. I’ve also been known to throw some finely sliced celery or shallots in with the onions and, once in a while, a carrot or two. Sometimes I make it soupier other times a thick stew. Both ways it’s always a hit with lentil fans β€” and I don’t know any lentil haters.
    LOL…

    Like

    • acflory

      My god, so many kindred spirits! I make a soupy version too, especially if I have some chicken soup left over. I love the dried lentils too, but usually I only cook with them when I have lots of time, or I’m make a big soup ahead of time.

      High five πŸ™‚

      Like

  • A Rustic Black Bean Stew for Meeka | The Pink Agendist

    […] lentil recipe by Meeka here. I have a black bean version that’s a bit more work, but worth the time. I like to make this […]

    Like

  • In my kitchen….. | Anne Lawson

    […] sausage. I was inspired by Meeks’ recipe for lentil stew that included a kransky sausage. […]

    Like

Don't be shy!

