Astor Piazzolla and Nuevo Tango – ole!

It’s Sunday morning Downunder, and I’ve discovered a new music to love! To be honest, Bluey of Bluebird Blvd discovered Astor Piazzolla, [thanks Bluey!] so I can’t take any credit, but I will try to spread the love. đŸ™‚

If Latin American music and rhythms are not your thing, stick your fingers in your ears right now, otherwise sit back and enjoy!

cheers

Meeks

p.s. Candy, this is for you.

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

14 responses to “Astor Piazzolla and Nuevo Tango – ole!

  • Courtenay Bluebird

    I am so glad you enjoyed Piazzolla’s piece! His compositions were the first of their kind, and they do reflect the European influence that is the heart of Argentina.

    What’s even more remarkable is the amount of “superstars” with whom Piazzolla collaborated—he did an (out-of-print) poetry/music recording with Fabulist literary icon Jorge Luis Borges; did a collection of duets with Yo-Yo Ma; and wrote compositions just for Kronos Quartet.

    Cerebral music lovers adore him because he does do unusual things with the tango form; dancers love him because the inherent drama of his works lend themselves to the Kabuki-esque dramatics of competition-style tango. As for me, an everyday listener, I enjoy Piazzolla’s use of an implied narrative—meaning his songs feel like stories without words—I find his work unexpected and inspiring.

    Like

    • acflory

      As you can see from the comments, more than one of my friends loves the tango as well so this has been a treat for all of us.

      I don’t even know the most basic steps of the tango but I adore the music, and I really appreciate you doing the research for me! I’m lazy that way. đŸ˜€

      -hugs-

      Like

  • anne54

    At first I heard those French tones too. I hadn’t thought of Maigret, but it fits! Then it moved on to more of what I was expecting.

    Like

  • davidprosser

    I risked one ear. If you hadn’t told me this was Latin American I’d almost have thought I’d walked in on an episode of Maigret at first. It has a vaguely French sound at first.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Like

  • Candy Korman

    No need to convince me. I’m already a Tango addict. One thing you should know, although performers often dance to Piazzolla, his compositions are really more for listening. AND… he lived for a number of years in NYC near where I live now.

    Like

    • acflory

      I’m not sure I could listen tohim without /wanting/ to dance but yes, lovely music in its own right. I know how big NYC is but, did you ever catch sight of him?

      Like

      • Candy Korman

        On a trip to BA early in my Tango life, I was chastised by Argentines for simply saying I liked to dance to Libertango. A man in a music store told me it was like saying I liked to dance to church music. I now understand that social Tango is best danced to the music written specifically for dancing. Most of that is from the Golden Age of the Tango. Piazzolla is later, and geared toward concerts and choreographed performances. The social dance is less extravagant and more spontaneous. It’s also — a genuine social dance with lead and follow and improvisations. That’s what I truly love to do.

        Like

  • pinkagendist

    remembered one before going to bed:

    Like

    • acflory

      Oh! This is more how I’m used to seeing tango – and it’s so passionate and exciting, but… I think I like the Querida? one the best. Thank you so much for these. I’m going to dream tango now. đŸ™‚

      Like

  • pinkagendist

    My tango lessons were on Thursday nights for years. I loved it. Mike refused to join me so I went with my friend Candida. I’ll select a couple of greats and send them to you tomorrow. But I can tell you now my favourite was El dia que me quieras (the day you love me)

    Like

Don't be shy!

