Yet another reason to be an Indie

Another one of my articles is live on Indies Unlimited :

‘Do you secretly dream of being traditionally published?

When someone you know is offered a contract, do you experience a moment of intense envy? Do you smile, and say ‘congratulations’ while silently screaming ‘why not me’?

Don’t worry, your dirty little secret is safe because….yes, hand-on-heart, I too share your shame. Despite everything I have learned about the traditional publishing world in the last two years, I still haven’t completely quashed the romantic notions I used to hold about the Big Six. I guess it’s like the dream of finding Mr Right and living happily ever after, it never completely dies.

But to quote the Bard, “All that glitters is not gold…”’

To read the full article, and hopefully comment, follow this link to Indies Unlimited :

http://www.indiesunlimited.com/2014/03/27/yet-another-reason-to-be-an-indie/#comments

cheers

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

4 responses to “Yet another reason to be an Indie

  • Candy Korman

    I’ll admit to still having some conventional publishing dreams for the novel-in-progress, but I no longer feel bound to the “old publishing” business model. It’s not easy either way…

    Like

    • acflory

      Not easy, no. If someone would say to me, “I’ll market your work for a 50% share of the profits” I’d jump at it. Sadly, no one is going to say that to any of us, at least not yet. In time things may change to the point where such a partnership is both possible, and effective, but we’re a long way from that ideal future yet..

      Like

  • davidprosser

    Makes you wonder who the agent works for then. Surely they could have a capped limitation written into a contract if a publisher thinks your book good enough to go ahead with.?
    xxx Mega-Hugs xxx

    Like

Don't be shy!

