Social Media Part 2 – Have Fun

http://kriswrites.com/2014/02/26/the-business-rusch-social-media-part-2-or-discoverability-part-10-continued/

This post by Kristine Kathryn Rusch, and the comment by The Passive Guy, are like a ‘Get Out of Jail’ card for my guilty conscience. I have fun on my blog, but I don’t have fun on Twitter or Facebook, so I don’t go to those ‘parties’. Now I don’t have to feel bad about being so anti-social.

The truth is, I love having meaningful conversations with people, and I’d walk over hot coals for my friends, but I’m more hermit than social butterfly. And to mix my metaphors even more, this leopard can’t change her spots. Now I can just be me, guilt free. πŸ˜€

Have a great weekend.

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

14 responses to “Social Media Part 2 – Have Fun

  • davidprosser

    Let’s start by saying I have fun with my blog.I’m also not a social butterfly in real life so the blog is my release without feeling suffocated by people.
    I dislike Facebook and other of the social media but do have to recognise it’s value.If I ignored them though I’m sure my blog would suffer from having many fewer followers than it currently does.Twitter and Facebook are two places I always post the blog to and it does pay dividends in new followers and people who comment.

    I’m a writer so very often my blog will refer to new things I’m working on or have coming out. To ignore the social media and to concentrate on having fun writing is to miss out on opportunities to sell my work. I don’t want to thrust it down anyone’s throat but sometimes people are interested.

    As to leaving political and/or religious comments out of my blog. I can’t do that. The blog is meant to be a reflection of me as a person and as such I can’t ignore things that impact on my life. There are times I feel that certain sections of the public are discriminated against or bullied and I can’t just gloss over how these things affect me. I’m open to debate but I will rally people to fight against such inequalities if I can.
    Despite that and maybe because of that I’ll continue to do my blog and enjoy it but remember that there is an audience out there that I need to aim for and social media is my best platform. I just don’t let it rule me or use it to annoy others.

    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Like

    • acflory

      I don’t think we’re that far apart at all, David. Blogging /is/ part of social media, and all my posts get sent to both FB and Twitter, automatically. I also agree that a blog needs to be true to its maker, and yours is very true to you. πŸ™‚

      My point was simply about the futility of guilt. When you do what you love, it’s not work, it’s fun. And I believe visitors feel more welcome.

      -hugs-

      Like

  • Jon Jefferson

    Like you I prefer the more meaningful communications. I like to hear other’s thoughts as I share mine.

    At the same time, I can dig some of the fun on the others. I enjoy finding some of the inane tripe that I run across on facebook (ya, I can share a kitty pic or two).

    On the downside I do get tired of the constant political pandering or the religion bashing.

    Like

    • acflory

      Kitty pics I love. πŸ˜€ The rest? Meh… it’s the kind of small talk I’ve never been very good at, especially with strangers. I have a very aussie sense of humour and I’ve learned the hard way that my irreverence can often come across as a personal affront to those not used to the tongue-in-cheek teasing.

      On my blog, however, I know most of the people who comment regularly so they become friends. With them I can be myself, knowing they won’t take offence. That’s precious.

      Like

  • Candy Korman

    YES, yes, yes and yes…
    It’s about what feels right and works well for YOU.

    I’m really enjoying blogging β€” not a surprise β€” but I also enjoy twitter and that is amazing to me. I’ve made actual, meaningful connections that started on Twitter. At the heart of those exchanges there has been genuine kindness, thoughtfulness and most of all generosity. But my experiences with other social media has not always been as satisfying. I’ve bailed on the ones that annoy, confuse, mystify or make me feel like running away and hiding.

    For most of my life I was painfully shy. I’ve become less so and I’m growing into a more socially confident person. Maybe it’s just the aging process? Maybe I just care less about what everyone thinks?

    Tweeting about my books, about the museums I’ve visited, dances I plan to attend, etc. is turning out to be fun. I don’t expect responses. But when I get them, I enjoy them. And I do my best to be nice, helpful, fun and never, ever mean.

    The internet is a great deal like a big cocktail party. You can be the woman on the table wearing a lampshade on her head β€” and get a lot of attention. Or you can be someone passing out tasty bits of cheese. smoked salmon or spiced nuts. You can also lurk and listen and learn. No harm done.

    Like

    • acflory

      “Or you can be someone passing out tasty bits of cheese. smoked salmon or spiced nuts.” Oh my god – you’ve just described me to a ‘T’!

      Real life social gatherings are a nightmare to me, unless I can find something useful to do with myself – like handing out food. I love feeding people, and I guess that tray of goodies is also a good shield to hide behind. Or perhaps it’s an ice breaker.

      For me, my blog serves both those functions because I now know the people who stop and say hello are my kind of people. Have a canape – smoked salmon, neuchatel cream cheese and a dill pickle. πŸ™‚

      Like

  • metan

    πŸ˜€ !
    I could have written your last paragraph myself, that and Candy’s ‘passing out the cheese ‘paragraph. I’m a lurk and listener too, you’ll never see me on the table with a lampshade on my head. πŸ˜€
    Do what makes you happy I say, don’t worry what others think. If only I’d been better at that when I was young.

    Like

    • acflory

      -giggles- Kindred spirits flock together? I must admit though, if I’ve had a wine or two, and the dance music has a good beat to it, I’ve been known to get up and dance. I love dancing. Unfortunately my idea of great dance music is now about 20 years out of date, and I shudder to think what I look like while I’m having a good time on the dance floor!

      Like

Don't be shy!

